Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  3
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

68 Camaro RS Spaceframe XBY 380F - Info needed

My apologies if this is the the wrong section!

I was hoping someone here recognises the 68 camaro in the following link, and photos below: https://youtu.be/jByfTnQIu-8

My brother had 2 camaros, a 67 road-going RS, and a spaceframe 68 RS drag car - XBY 380F. Sadly my brother passed away a few years ago and he left me these cars. The 67 has been comprehensively mechanically rebuilt during lockdown, and is now roadworthy. I havent looked at the spaceframe car until today as it's been in storage.

I'm looking for any info on the car, if anyone knows it? Info such as who built it, any previous owners etc. Colin ran the car at York and santa pod a few times 2014 - 2017 but being up north in Aberdeen meant he couldn't get down very often.

The engine was seized after sitting a winter with water in the bores which had rusted the block beyond use (it's going to become a coffee table). As it's a 468ci, I've had to source and bore a new block which has now arrived with me. I plan on rebuilding the engine/car, tidying it up and selling it early next year and put the money into restoring the 67 bodywork with all new external panels.

The engine appears to be quite a high spec, but I'll add this once I have the full list of components at hand.

I have a dilemma. As it stands, the roll cage and front chassis wouldn't comply with any current MSA safety standards and I am led to believe that it was a 'run what you brung' car?? I'm considering lifting the body off and replacing the cage and front end completely, but this will be a massive job. Would the car be more desirable as it was built, or if it was made MSA compliant?