Broadband speed
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  2
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Broadband speed

  1. #1
    Official RnS Addict Big Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    West Mersea
    Posts
    3,245
    Images
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Big Joe is online now

    Broadband speed

    Does anyone know how this works? we have recently changed from BT to EE (suposed to be the same company)
    Now since then the speed seems to have slowed down (sometimes intermittently) I don't know whether this is because of the change or maybe the higher demand due to C19 (the change to EE was about the same time as the lockdown started)so I am wondering:
    Does the amount of people on line in an area affect the speed?
    Does the amount of devices in the house affect the speed? (We have three laptops, three tablets and a couple of smart phones and a smart TV) and does it affect the speed even if they are on standby?
    My wife has noticed if she is in a Zoom meeting with her friends and I walk into the house then the Zoom gets affected (is that because of my phone being the last straw that breaks the camels back)
    Any ideas?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    13,150
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is online now
    more devices does slow it down i'm told (by my techy mate who sorts this stuff for me).
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  4. LikesBig Joe liked this post
  5. #3
    Official RnS Addict ivanhoew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    uranus
    Posts
    2,251
    Images
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    ivanhoew is offline
    if on wi fi in the house , then anything that also uses wi fi can affect the signal especially if it gets between, or close to ,the signal path from modem to puter .
    Medusa + injection = too much torque for the dyno ..https://youtu.be/qg5o0_tJxYM

  6. #4
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    397
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Scooby is offline
    Think Its a combination of things I know when I had all the little ones at home using laptops/phones Sky boxes etc my internet used to move to a crawling pace.
    So Yes, lot of devices also recently since most people are now working from home -I assume nearly everyone's on the net it does have an effect on the usage. I also heard that the smart meter devices also pull off your internet...I could be wrong so sure someone on here will have more info on this.
    Just to many of us on this little island......

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict cptpugwash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    shed
    Posts
    1,870
    Images
    115
    Post Thanks / Like
    cptpugwash is offline
    Did they give you a new router with your new contract. If they did it may be worth going into the settings and seeing if it is set on 2.4g or 5g.
    Have a look on Google for your router, there's loads of info out there.

    Our connections been up and down for a month or so now and tends to go slower in the evenings.

    Should be able to check the speeds your getting of the site below, just have to click the go icon.

    https://www.speedtest.net/

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict rockhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    clacton-on-sea
    Posts
    953
    Images
    54
    Post Thanks / Like
    rockhouse is offline
    e.e terrible service

  9. LikesTorment liked this post
  10. #7
    Official RnS Addict Big Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    West Mersea
    Posts
    3,245
    Images
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Big Joe is online now
    Quote Originally Posted by cptpugwash View Post
    Did they give you a new router with your new contract. If they did it may be worth going into the settings and seeing if it is set on 2.4g or 5g.
    Have a look on Google for your router, there's loads of info out there.

    Our connections been up and down for a month or so now and tends to go slower in the evenings.

    Should be able to check the speeds your getting of the site below, just have to click the go icon.

    https://www.speedtest.net/
    They did give me a new router but I haven't installed it, I will have a look when I get time

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •