Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: The Bedford !

I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

The Bedford !

So started working on an early Bedford Type A, it's from 1952/54 and was originally a 5ton flatbed. I'm going to modernise the running gear and power it with a cummins Diesel engine from a DAF truck.

It's starting to take shape and I'm getting ready to fab the engine mounts.

Google Album;
    https://goo.gl/photos/LffuXxzSdq2LszUaA

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Forum Sponsor RAYS CLASSICS.COM's Avatar
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    i remember these old A model bedfords well my dad was a commercial motor trader & these were his bread n butter when they were just a few yrs old i spent many hrs helping him remove platform body,s & putting a dropside body on it, we would also take a short wheelbase tipper remove the body & tipping gear & convert it to a tow truck with harvey frost jib, Fun days as a young boy loved every minute of it , heres a picture of a few of them taken about 1958

good luck with RAY A in sf

American Truck importer v8.jimmy's Avatar
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    and the old Commer rising from the ground, and is that the headlight of an A30/A35 to the left above the Commer platform?

5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Official RnS Addict
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Ahh good build going on there, did consider a Cummins for my J type you probably know that there is a conversion for the gear lever to go straight into the top of the ZF gearbox when they put these engines into Land Rovers
    Keep posting the build photos , love A, D, and J types here is mine

Cheers

Dave

Forum Sponsor RAYS CLASSICS.COM's Avatar
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by v8.jimmy View Post
    and the old Commer rising from the ground, and is that the headlight of an A30/A35 to the left above the Commer platform?