chop top mk2 - Page 183
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  57
+ Reply to Thread
Page 183 of 197 FirstFirst ... 83 133 173 181 182 183 184 185 193 ... LastLast
Results 1,821 to 1,830 of 1963

Thread: chop top mk2

  1. #1821
    Official RnS Addict chop top mk2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    lancashire
    Posts
    1,182
    Images
    2139
    Post Thanks / Like
    chop top mk2 is offline
    been out in the car a couple of times and the over all impression is its nice to drive how ever there are some problems. the first one is the gearbox, have now got no forth gear and the other main problem is the carb. sometimes it runs spot on and other times it will barely tick over .

    this means the engine and box need to come out and the box rebuilt, as for the carb im going to bite the bullet and buy one off those FITEC injection set ups. theres also a couple of other bits im going to change.

    going to leave the car how it is at the moment till the new year and then get it ready for may next year as there is now no point in trying to run it this year.
    i wont be sitting idle for the rest of the year as i am collecting parts for the next build ( which i allready have ) and have designed a few parts , including a chassis which im hoping to get cut in the next few weeks. ( the chassis is a project ive been working on over the last few months and there will be more news on this over the coming months ).

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #1822
    Administrator blackpopracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Slough
    Posts
    8,775
    Images
    1757
    Post Thanks / Like
    blackpopracing is offline
    Keep us appraised of the Fitech unit with a build up & running report as several on here are interested in this conversion.

  4. #1823
    Official RnS Addict chop top mk2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    lancashire
    Posts
    1,182
    Images
    2139
    Post Thanks / Like
    chop top mk2 is offline
    no worries i will keep you posted on the fitech unit.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #1824
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie evildave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    378
    Images
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4
    evildave is offline
    I was going a similar route to the fitech option until I realised most manufactures require at least 10"Hg vacuum at idle, sadly with the cam I had in the Camaro I only made 5"Hg so had to stick with a carb.
    I take it you've checked that out?
    nothing to see here.............move along................move along

  7. #1825
    Official RnS Addict chop top mk2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    lancashire
    Posts
    1,182
    Images
    2139
    Post Thanks / Like
    chop top mk2 is offline
    thats a new one on me ,
    did not realize you had to have a certain amount of vacuum at idle to make the fitech work. cheers evildave i will look into this.

  8. #1826
    Official RnS Addict fozwanger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    4,076
    Images
    601
    Post Thanks / Like
    fozwanger is online now
    What about a holley avenger TBI from real steel?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #1827
    Official RnS Addict chop top mk2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    lancashire
    Posts
    1,182
    Images
    2139
    Post Thanks / Like
    chop top mk2 is offline
    not really looked at anything else ,
    will look into how much vacuum the rover makes ( i have a vacuum gauge ) before i go any further.

  10. #1828
    Administrator blackpopracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Slough
    Posts
    8,775
    Images
    1757
    Post Thanks / Like
    blackpopracing is offline
    Fitech is about a third of the price.

  11. #1829
    Official RnS Addict chop top mk2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    lancashire
    Posts
    1,182
    Images
    2139
    Post Thanks / Like
    chop top mk2 is offline
    just had a look at a fitech spec sheet and cant see anything about the idle vacuum, have noticed though that i need to get the correct one as i need it to make boost for the turbo.

    as you say blackpopracing it is cheap,

    just been looking at installs on you tube and they seem to be putting them on all sorts, even air cooled vw engines.

  12. #1830
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie evildave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    378
    Images
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4
    evildave is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by chop top mk2 View Post
    just had a look at a fitech spec sheet and cant see anything about the idle vacuum, have noticed though that i need to get the correct one as i need it to make boost for the turbo.

    as you say blackpopracing it is cheap,

    just been looking at installs on you tube and they seem to be putting them on all sorts, even air cooled vw engines.

    not a lot of suppliers mention the idle vacuum but I did delve into it in detail and read that at least 10"hg is required so it can determine between idle/cruise/WOT. Can't remember where now but it stopped me going that route, I fitted a Holley modified 850DP in the end and a wideband AFR gauge but those gauges cause more worry than anything especially with big gulps of air on cam overlap. Couldn't get it 'right' and ultimately sold the car because it was pi55ing me off so much
    nothing to see here.............move along................move along

+ Reply to Thread
Page 183 of 197 FirstFirst ... 83 133 173 181 182 183 184 185 193 ... LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Mk2 Zodiac Dash Top
      By Zody in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 25-03-2010, 21:59
    2. chop saw/ w/shop heater
      By chris in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 31-07-2009, 05:57
    3. mk2 consul bits
      By FugitiveGasser in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 08-05-2009, 21:30
    4. zodiac mk2
      By pompeypaul in forum The Showroom
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 30-04-2009, 20:43
    5. Transit MK2 steering box
      By Blown 100e in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 28-04-2009, 21:54

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •