Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Ryan's Ruby

I'm a grown up member now !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

Ryan's Ruby

Before I start this is my first attempt with a rod so please excuse any ignorance on my part and feel free to put your views across. I'm in no rush to finish this build as I have a lot on with the house so progress may be slow.

i have been thinking about getting a new project for a while but due to having just bought my first house I didn't want to spend too much or have something getting in the way. Having always prefered older cars and liking to support british made, I settled on the idea of an Austin seven. after a few months of looking for the right base I found a car which took my liking it was on ebay but unfortunately i missed the auction whilst being away on holiday. To my luck the winning bidder never turned up to collect the car and it was re-advertised this time I made sure I got it.

So here's my idea the car is small and very light so where possible I'm going to try and keep the weight down. I would like to keep the original identity so I will be keeping the chassis, suspension and steering original ish. But everything else is up for grabs. I am fully aware that it's not going to handle that well so don't have any desire to throw huge amounts of power at it. But at the same time I'd like it to be quick enough so that I enjoy driving it and that it will keep up with modern traffic. I'd like the roof chopped and the body channeled.

Thats about it heres some pics of what I'm starting with and my first days progress.

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    that looks like a very good start there mate, if you want to keep it light take the engine out of the 2 wheeled beast next to it in last pics , then you dont have to dress up as a power ranger on the bike again.