Likes Likes:  4
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 53 Ford F100

I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

53 Ford F100

Hi all,

New here and to the world of custom builds etc. I've just committed to buy a 53 F100 and have pretty grand plans for it over the next 5 years or so.

As many are, the whole registration/historic plate/8 point system confuses the hell out of me, so I thought I'd ask for some advice based on what I want to do with the truck, so here goes.

-Keep the og chassis and reinforce it a bit
    -fit a mustang 2 kit and 4 link for air ride
    -4 disc conversion for brakes
    -power steering
    -engine and transmission swap (not sure what set up yet)
    -other bits and pieces that don't relate to the 8 point system from my understanding.

Is there any way after all of this is done the truck can keep a non Q plate reg?

Cheers all,

Glen

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    No, there's no way LEGALLY you can do that and still be entitled to Historic status.

You can however build it to BIVA , exactly as you ask and ( if planned correctly) retian a Historic STYLE plate and pay standard road tax of £250ish.

If you want a detailed translated to English spec of how to build to BIVA and achieve what you want contact me for a copy of Dummies Guid eto BIVA ,available for £20 donation to my local hospice .

As you are totally new to this I should explain I'm not and have been involved with building and fighting legislation for over 45 years.

4. LikesGmoulds1 liked this post
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    I should alos point out that SHOULD you heavily modified non 8 points compliant vehicle ever be discovered it's v5c will be removed and it will be sent for BIVA anyway .