3 phase
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: 3 phase

  1. #1
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie vw2v8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    wrexham
    Posts
    395
    Images
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    vw2v8 is offline

    3 phase

    can a 3 phase machine be coverted to run on 240 v electric thanks

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict brading's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kings Lynn
    Posts
    2,987
    Images
    382
    Post Thanks / Like
    brading is offline
    You can buy 240v to 3 phase converter such as these.

    https://www.machinemart.co.uk/p/pc-4...ase-converter/

  4. #3
    Official RnS Addict trevd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Rayleigh Essex
    Posts
    3,118
    Images
    278
    Post Thanks / Like
    trevd is offline
    Manual machines run ok on a converter but cnc machines can be a problem. what machine is it? there are 2 main types of converter, rotary and static, I ran a rotary one for many years with no problems, static ones are not as powerful and have more parasitic loss so not as economical.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    I'm Not Jed Clampett stueeee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nr. Dartford, Kent
    Posts
    2,725
    Images
    244
    Post Thanks / Like
    stueeee is offline
    Another option is to use one of these: 2.2kw 3 HP Single Phase In 240v Three Phase Out Motor Inverter AC Drive NEW | eBay
    Inverter drives are more efficient than either a static or rotary converter but you will have to do some fiddling with the motor wiring as a minimum. The output of pretty well all these inverters is three phase 240v not "standard issue" 415V. Usually, changing a three phase motor's operating voltage just means moving some straps in the motor's connection box; changing the wiring from star to delta. You may also need to change the contactor coils to 240V if those are 415V now.

    Apart from improved efficiency, the main advantage is that you can control the output frequency with an inverter -all induction motors run at whatever speed it says on the data plate because the frequency of mains power is 50 HZ. increase the output frequency from the inverters control panel to 75 HZ means the motor spins 50% faster. What you can and can't practically do speedwise with an inverter is a bit of a subject in itself, but having exact control of spindle speed on a mill or lathe can be really useful.
    Stuart.
    My website: Isn't working at the moment
    My Intro

  7. #5
    Administrator Darren West's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    braintree
    Posts
    14,069
    Images
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Darren West is offline
    depends on why its 3 phase also
    it may be due to the motor size or amps it requires to run

    please post up full details of the item in question

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    three holes, wisbech, cambs
    Posts
    5,031
    Images
    939
    Post Thanks / Like
    352 kum is offline
    inverter dont work well on a mig my tig is 2 phase or can be used on single phase
    at least dick turpin had the decency to wear a mask!

  9. #7
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie vw2v8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    wrexham
    Posts
    395
    Images
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    vw2v8 is offline
    its a pillar drill ill try and get the amps volts tomorow, was thinking of fitting a 240v motor in it but if i could use as is it would be easy er than looking for a decent motor

  10. #8
    Administrator Darren West's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    braintree
    Posts
    14,069
    Images
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Darren West is offline
    a motor may be cheaper than a inverter

  11. #9
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    three holes, wisbech, cambs
    Posts
    5,031
    Images
    939
    Post Thanks / Like
    352 kum is offline
    if its an old heavy duty drill the motor may be built into the casing! mine is a 50s herbert? i think and thats part of the machine
    at least dick turpin had the decency to wear a mask!

  12. #10
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie newboldspeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    chesterfield
    Posts
    441
    Images
    308
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    10
    newboldspeed is offline
    Check motor it may be duel voltage 220/440.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Ma boy - the amazon sled: Phase 1
      By bartnpenni in forum The Garage
      Replies: 24
      Last Post: 04-11-2011, 15:01
    2. 3 Phase mig welder
      By Lemon in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 19-02-2011, 11:02
    3. compresser 2.2 kw single phase
      By vin likes diesel in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 22-04-2010, 21:03
    4. 3 phase parts washer...
      By bigyellataxi in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 14-09-2009, 21:11

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •