350 chevy first time coolant bleeding/overheating help!
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

350 chevy first time coolant bleeding/overheating help!

ran my 350 chevy for the first time yesterday. started and ran like a dream so far. sitting at 2500 rpm to run cam in, after 5 minutes the overflow started boiling over and spewing water. i instanly killed the engine, allowed it all to cool down and then tried to find the issue, the bottom radiator hose was cool. everywhere else seemed to be ok. but to be honest as this is my first time on something like this i dont really know the right way to fill the cooling system. i just water in the engine at the moment as planning to use some nice expensive coolant once the break in is sorted.

we tried again. keeping a keen eye on the temp guage and after another 5 minutes same again.

the radiator doesnt seem to be giving any air out and dropping down in volume so i can fill. i was told to NOT use a thermostat for the inital process. could this be an issue?

below are some pictures of the setup incase there might be anything untowards. im so so close and im running out of time now. i really need this thing wrapped up.
    any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks again for the help

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    it looks like your top hose is higher than your rad cap, so you will get air trapped in the top hose.

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm no expert but wonder about a few things. But also new mills, my 350 did, run hot on initial start up, I had to swtich off like you. Presume you have some kinda air blowing thru garage etc.

The rad cap gubbins looks only just higher than the mill.
    Therefore the rad header tank isn't really above mill.