700r4
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 700r4

  1. #1
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wanborough wiltshire
    Posts
    697
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1
    roofer is offline

    700r4

    I am just about to mount my 700r4 box to my sbc350, i have a Painless wiring lock up kit & TV cable,
    Is there anything else i should do to this box before i us it,
    Gearbox No onpm045c 8863549/md83 27 spline (later box i have been told)

    Thanks
    Last edited by roofer; 06-11-2014 at 15:15.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict ALS57's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,225
    Images
    169
    Post Thanks / Like
    ALS57 is offline
    pre-fill the torque converter

  4. #3
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wanborough wiltshire
    Posts
    697
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1
    roofer is offline
    Is there anything I should do whilst I have the pan off when I fit the lock up kit,

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    richard rawlplug Torment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    nottafukinchancingham
    Posts
    7,773
    Images
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Torment is offline
    new filter cant hurt it.


    The Oddlot Drag Racing Team...havin fun is usual
    57 bel air wagon
    540cui altered.
    your not drunk enough if you can lie on the floor without holding on..

  7. #5
    I'm a grown up member now ! americanautomatics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Southend on mud, Essex
    Posts
    96
    Images
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    americanautomatics is offline
    The TV cable is the most important bit. It raises pressure as engine load increases with throttle opening.
    If you have the cable attached then pull it in and out and make sure the plunger valve is not stuck and operates smoothly.
    You may also want to make a visual note of the cable travel so it looks familiar when you do the adjustment at the carb end.
    If the TV cable is not set correctly you'll get about 30miles before its wasted the clutches.
    Make sure you have the correct TV cable adapter for your carb type, otherwise its fabrication time.
    Jon

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict Stude Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    South London/NI
    Posts
    2,153
    Images
    721
    Post Thanks / Like
    Stude Star is offline
    Yes as above, do you have the correct TV bracket? It's the bracket that holds the throttle cable and TV cable to the carb, the two cables don't arc at the same rate so that the TV is 'all in' before the throttle (from memory). What carb are you running?

    Also I presume you have a 4 speed shifter?

  9. #7
    I'm a grown up member now ! americanautomatics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Southend on mud, Essex
    Posts
    96
    Images
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    americanautomatics is offline
    Also - apply some fluid to the converter shaft and propshaft seal areas so they dont dry start and wreck themselves. Stick around 5 litres in the box, start up and idle only for a while to let the parts lube themselves. Stick your foot on the brake and run the gear shift through all positions, leaving it in each one for a bit to bleed air from the parts. Keep topping up in 'Park' until full, then road test.

    Re - Gearbox No onpm045c 8863549/md83 27 spline (later box i have been told) - the number is 0NPM045C, the M means its 90's the leading zero means it is a 199'0'. The splines for this year are 30 so you must be counting the rear shaft which are always 27. So yes you have a later 4L60 box. Just for info.

  10. #8
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wanborough wiltshire
    Posts
    697
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1
    roofer is offline
    E
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyblue82 View Post
    Also - apply some fluid to the converter shaft and propshaft seal areas so they dont dry start and wreck themselves. Stick around 5 litres in the box, start up and idle only for a while to let the parts lube themselves. Stick your foot on the brake and run the gear shift through all positions, leaving it in each one for a bit to bleed air from the parts. Keep topping up in 'Park' until full, then road test.

    Re - Gearbox No onpm045c 8863549/md83 27 spline (later box i have been told) - the number is 0NPM045C, the M means its 90's the leading zero means it is a 199'0'. The splines for this year are 30 so you must be counting the rear shaft which are always 27. So yes you have a later 4L60 box. Just for info.

    only problem I have is that I will be breaking in a fully rebuilt 350, so I will need to run in for 20 minuites, the gearbox has been unused for at least a year, I have tv cable and bracket etc, have read up on setting up the tv cable but that dont stop me having concerns about getting it right,

    thanke everyone for your advice,

  11. #9
    I'm a grown up member now ! americanautomatics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Southend on mud, Essex
    Posts
    96
    Images
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    americanautomatics is offline
    Totally understand where you're coming from.
    The 20 min breakin can be done in stages. The above 2000 rpm break in is to get sufficient crank splash lubrication to the camshaft whilst it beds in to the lifters.
    It wont hurt to allow the engine to idle for a few short bouts as your cam should be reasonably pre-lubed.
    Maybe a good extended crank over with the plugs out will be sufficient to get oil round both.
    The setting of the TV cable is for the 'driving' bit so you can start up ok even with it disconnected.

  12. #10
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie boblester40's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    winsford
    Posts
    340
    Images
    221
    Post Thanks / Like
    boblester40 is offline
    Change the lockup soleniod if it has not been changed already, make sure you have the right lockup torque converter also .

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. 700r4 and converter
      By Rick57 in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 23-08-2012, 08:06
    2. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 05-08-2010, 09:53
    3. Bolts for SBC/700R4 box?
      By zephyr in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 15-06-2010, 20:19
    4. 700r4 gearbox
      By carl p in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 28-04-2010, 19:09
    5. Th350 vs 700R4
      By vince-305 in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 19
      Last Post: 11-01-2010, 16:56

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •