+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

UnhappyBlown tail light fuse, that keeps blowing, 1991 Camaro RS

Hi guys,

I wonder if anyone could help.

I recently bought a 1991 Camaro RS. It has the 5.0 TBI in it. Anyway after extensive work everything was running fine so I popped down to Cornwall to pick it up off my dad. I live in Scotland so today I drove it back. Everything was sweet handled the drive no problem at all! Ran smooth sounded great, lights all worked inc dash lights.

The bad bit: at some stage my tail light fuse went. I have brake lights and indicators and my interior light works but, my dash light which illuminates the speedo etc doesn't work nor does the tail lights and fog light. I changed the fuse and it immediately popped the new fuse too!

Can anyone give me any advice on where I should be looking or has anyone else had this problem? I live in Dunfermline and if I can't resolve it is there any good places to take it? I'm gutted cuz 1. I can't drive at night, 2. My Dads the mechanic not me n he is 580 miles away!

I'm sure it's not a major thing and thanks for your help in advance!! If you need more info to go on let me know !

Kai

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    If the fault has just appeared make a visual inspection of all visible wiring back as far as the switch. If you are able to disconnect a section of the wiring that runs to the back of the car it may indicate whether the fault lies in that section if another fuse blows or doesn't blow. If you don't feel confident to do any of this take it to an auto electrician.
    Greatest discombobulations to all my readers.

I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the tips. So there are no common faults that spring to mind? I will be looking for potential shorts tonight.