Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: chevy v8 350

I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

chevy v8 350

can anybody tell me if they no of any chevy V8 with a Manual box, or even if there are any carn't seam to find any they all seam to b with auto boxes. how big a job is it too marry the a manual box to a regular chevey V8? when it comes to engines haven't very much experience so any help or advise u can give would b very much appreciated thanx Rich

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    They certainly can be had, just rarer than auto. Are you putting a manual into an auto car?, if so you'll need the bits for the back of engine, flywheel, pilot bushing etc, clutch assembly, rod linkages (is it going to be a manual rather than hydraulic set up?), also the different pedal box - manual cars usually have a smaller brake pedal. Original manual trans were clunky by today's standards but there are a lot of modern manual trans for V8s. Just be sure you don't pay 350 price for a 305. Friend of mine dropped a four speed into a Firebird in place of an auto and it was literally the first bit of car work he'd done.

Official RnS Addict biff.bailey's Avatar
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    the small block chevy has had all manner of manual boxes behind it from the factory (not to mention aftermarket adaptors), it depends what sort of power you want to put through it really.
    Probably the most common manual box (and most likely the easiest to find) is the t5, as fitted to 3rd generation camaros, firebirds etc.
    my 78 z28 camaro had a 4 speed t10 box, but for ultimate factory strength, you need an m21 or m22 box, these were often fitted behind 454 motored corvettes and chevelles etc........good luck finding one for reasonable money though !
    I KNOW WHERE YOU LIVE,AND SO DOES CHUCK!

5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

I'm a newbie !