Cortina auto box problem . - Page 2
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    drag race addict redvictor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,392
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    redvictor is offline

    Re: Cortina auto box problem .

    in a nutshell yes.
    I think your problem is deeper than the governer.
    ANDY.
    Europe's quickest and fastest street legal car. 4.09 @ 191 - 6.27 @ 237mph so far...
    IVA legal too!
    Penn Autos/Andy Frost race transmissions.
    www.redvictor1racing.co.uk

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #12
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,081
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline

    Re: Cortina auto box problem .

    Yup, reckon you're right My local trans guy is on holiday for another week as well ..oh well .

  4. #13
    drag race addict redvictor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,392
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    redvictor is offline

    Re: Cortina auto box problem .

    Quote Originally Posted by kapri View Post
    Yup, reckon you're right My local trans guy is on holiday for another week as well ..oh well .
    must grumble then..
    Europe's quickest and fastest street legal car. 4.09 @ 191 - 6.27 @ 237mph so far...
    IVA legal too!
    Penn Autos/Andy Frost race transmissions.
    www.redvictor1racing.co.uk

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #14
    drag race addict redvictor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,392
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    redvictor is offline

    Re: Cortina auto box problem .

    Kev,i had a look in my book of words this morning and if the servo/band is ok then it's certainly a valve body issue. Either the back out valve or the reg valve. Getting a pressure gauge on it and noting the pressures in all gears would be good if you could do it.
    BTW,have you changed a carb/intake over the winter?
    Europe's quickest and fastest street legal car. 4.09 @ 191 - 6.27 @ 237mph so far...
    IVA legal too!
    Penn Autos/Andy Frost race transmissions.
    www.redvictor1racing.co.uk

  7. #15
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,081
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline

    Re: Cortina auto box problem .

    Yes, I've changed both carb and inlet but I've a fixed vacuum gauge and thats's still reading the same ...that thought had crossed my mind as well

  8. #16
    drag race addict redvictor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,392
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    redvictor is offline

    Re: Cortina auto box problem .

    Quote Originally Posted by kapri View Post
    Yes, I've changed both carb and inlet but I've a fixed vacuum gauge and thats's still reading the same ...that thought had crossed my mind as well
    I was thinking more the kickdown linkage. It still does throttle pressure a bit too and maybe you haven't adjusted it quite right?
    Europe's quickest and fastest street legal car. 4.09 @ 191 - 6.27 @ 237mph so far...
    IVA legal too!
    Penn Autos/Andy Frost race transmissions.
    www.redvictor1racing.co.uk

  9. #17
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,081
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline

    Re: Cortina auto box problem .

    Got ya ...nope, adjusted that up after / before road tests as well.

  10. #18
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,081
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    My local auto guy removed and checkled the valve body and also checked the servo , no fault found , everything free and good

    So I've brought it back to pull the box and thought I'd just recheck a few things like kickdown linkage ( all fine ) and vacuum modulator before I pull it as it's amajor job( for me) .. I clamped the vacuum line to it shut but it's still changing gears ? I thought with no vacuum it should really hang on to gears, how come it's still shifting?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. 85 z28 fuel problem
      By tuckers in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 03-05-2010, 13:07
    2. V6 oil pressure problem
      By Tiddytime in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 22-11-2009, 21:33
    3. Browser problem
      By kapri in forum Chat
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: 22-10-2009, 00:22
    4. c4 gear box problem
      By old pizz yella in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: 16-08-2009, 16:57
    5. Cortina auto mount ?
      By kapri in forum On Topic
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 15-05-2009, 22:09

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •