does fuel pump need relay?
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Official RnS Addict Taxirod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Near Canning Town, London
    Posts
    1,651
    Images
    1748
    Post Thanks / Like
    Taxirod is offline

    does fuel pump need relay?

    Both my vehicles have Holley electric fuel pumps, neither have relays but simply are given live from switching ignition on.

    Saw something today which suggested I should be using a relay on the fuel pumps.
    Its worked ok up to now, should i fit relays?

    Thanks in advance
    I may live in East London, I may have a number plate that reads "Chopt", but I do NOT use 6" wheel spacers!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Administrator Darren West's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    braintree
    Posts
    14,069
    Images
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Darren West is offline
    totally depends on the current draw on the pump
    the idea of a relay is to take the load off the switch

  4. #3
    I'm a grown up drunk! chevy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Herts. and ahead of Larry :)
    Posts
    2,602
    Images
    34
    Post Thanks / Like
    chevy2 is offline
    As already said above,
    It may only become a problem if theres other high amp draw items running at the same time that are also wired direct to the same ignition source,
    relays help to remove the risk of burning out switches.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Official RnS Addict Taxirod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Near Canning Town, London
    Posts
    1,651
    Images
    1748
    Post Thanks / Like
    Taxirod is offline
    Thanks Darren and Gary.
    I think I will fit them anyway, cant hurt.
    I may live in East London, I may have a number plate that reads "Chopt", but I do NOT use 6" wheel spacers!

  7. #5
    Administrator blackpopracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Slough
    Posts
    8,687
    Images
    1754
    Post Thanks / Like
    blackpopracing is offline
    Mine is wired direct Ian, as advised by painless so I would not worry.
    I have wired mine through the oil pressure switch though so if engine loses pressure/stops it shuts off the fuel pump.

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict MikeS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Leighton Buzzard
    Posts
    3,251
    Images
    207
    Post Thanks / Like
    MikeS is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by blackpopracing View Post
    Mine is wired direct Ian, as advised by painless so I would not worry.
    I have wired mine through the oil pressure switch though so if engine loses pressure/stops it shuts off the fuel pump.
    Imho this (or wired through a crash sensor) is a basic safety feature. In the event of a crash direct wired may allow fuel to continue to be pumped in to a hot engine bay turning a survivable crash into something much worse
    Money talks; unfortunately mine just says "goodbye"

  9. #7
    Official RnS Addict Taxirod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Near Canning Town, London
    Posts
    1,651
    Images
    1748
    Post Thanks / Like
    Taxirod is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by blackpopracing View Post
    Mine is wired direct Ian, as advised by painless so I would not worry.
    I have wired mine through the oil pressure switch though so if engine loses pressure/stops it shuts off the fuel pump.
    Thanks Mark
    I may live in East London, I may have a number plate that reads "Chopt", but I do NOT use 6" wheel spacers!

  10. #8
    Keep on Trucking... F100Jay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South wales
    Posts
    535
    Images
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    130
    F100Jay is offline
    Mine is wired direct to a fuse box that activates when the ignition comes on, no relays in between.

  11. #9
    Gym Junkie chrisvs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hitchin
    Posts
    6,213
    Images
    125
    Post Thanks / Like
    chrisvs is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by F100Jay View Post
    Mine is wired direct to a fuse box that activates when the ignition comes on, no relays in between.
    As has been said you really should wire it up so in the event of an accident the fuel pump is killed, it isn't difficult and might stop the vehicle bursting into flames.
    Paradise is full of idiots who believe it exists - Georges Wolinski
    I Think Therefore I Am - René Descartes

    www.nothingbeingadvertisedhere.com

  12. #10
    Official RnS Addict Taxirod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Near Canning Town, London
    Posts
    1,651
    Images
    1748
    Post Thanks / Like
    Taxirod is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeS View Post
    Imho this (or wired through a crash sensor) is a basic safety feature. In the event of a crash direct wired may allow fuel to continue to be pumped in to a hot engine bay turning a survivable crash into something much worse
    Thats a good point.
    I did use a thing off a car which cuts the power on impact on a previous car, would be good to fit those to my current vehicles.

    What is the proper name for such a thing? "Crash sensor" brings up things designed to trigger air bag.
    Last edited by Taxirod; 16-03-2016 at 17:49.
    I may live in East London, I may have a number plate that reads "Chopt", but I do NOT use 6" wheel spacers!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. fuel pump blanking plate (one chevy one ford)
      By trevd in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 17-01-2010, 16:42
    2. edelbrock fuel pump ford sbc 289 /351
      By chopcoupe in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 08-12-2009, 03:49
    3. electric fuel pump ?
      By THE VIKING in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 02-11-2009, 17:45
    4. fuel pump
      By 58 delray in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 13-09-2009, 07:51
    5. Fuel pump advise please
      By 56 AUSTIN in forum On Topic
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 07-06-2009, 19:49

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •