Dual circuit master cylinder?
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?


Likes Likes: †4
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Grown up? Never!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    2,072
    Images
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    chaley is offline

    Dual circuit master cylinder?

    Morning,
    Iím looking to replace the mk4 cortina servoíd master cylinder with a non-servo 1.
    Basically the new manifoldís vacuum take off is useless, is got the pull to adjust the timing, but only if you donít hook up the brakes. So I need to ditch the servo, it will also give Tetanus another inch or so for ground clearance as well so win win. Oh and the servo is a bit shagged anyway
    The set up at the moment is.
    Under floor mounted mk4 servo master cylinder.
    Cortina m16 disc front brakes.
    Cortina mk4 rear brakes.
    Iím really hoping for a bolt in option or Iíd go for a bias pedal box, but itís not a race car, I only want it to stop properly
    Iím thinking of running a ford inline brake compensator thingy to stop the rears locking up first.
    Iím not sure where to start with sizes of bore etc, so any help would be awesome.

    Cheers folks,

    Chaley
    And on the 6th day Man created god.
    Tetanus

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    22,979
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    You won't get decent line pressure unless you go bias box . Bias box with twin 5/8ths will do the trick.

  4. Likeschaley liked this post
  5. #3
    Grown up? Never!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    2,072
    Images
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    chaley is offline
    Bugger!!!

    Thanks Kev, not the answer I wanted, but at least I now know it’s the right way to go.
    Anyone got a cheap on for sale

    Chaley
    And on the 6th day Man created god.
    Tetanus

  6. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  7. #4
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    22,979
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    You can get the bits to build a custom one on ebay for around the £30-40 mark. I used the measurements avaialable on the Wilwood site to custom build a couple of mone.

  8. #5
    I'm a grown up drunk! chevy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Herts. and ahead of Larry :)
    Posts
    2,602
    Images
    34
    Post Thanks / Like
    chevy2 is offline
    Have you thought about fitting an alternator that has a built in vacuum pump on the back?
    Plenty of factory stuff runs them
    No need to alter your brakes if so....

  9. #6
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    12,690
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by chevy2 View Post
    Have you thought about fitting an alternator that has a built in vacuum pump on the back?
    Plenty of factory stuff runs them
    No need to alter your brakes if so....
    Di transit had these fitted, you need an oil feed and return though. Lots of diesels had small belt driven vacuum pumps.
    Neil.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  10. #7
    I'm a grown up drunk! chevy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Herts. and ahead of Larry :)
    Posts
    2,602
    Images
    34
    Post Thanks / Like
    chevy2 is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by mygasser View Post
    Di transit had these fitted, you need an oil feed and return though. Lots of diesels had small belt driven vacuum pumps.
    Neil.
    I thonk Corsas also run them Neil,
    May be a bit more compact than the transit one but with no doubt less amp output.

  11. #8
    Grown up? Never!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    2,072
    Images
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    chaley is offline
    Thanks chaps,
    I think I’ll go with the bias box.
    I’ve just seen the price of a replacement ‘tina servo and ouch!
    The bias box also gives me matching pedals for a change and if I fit it with flexies before the hard line and can make it adjustable, so Liz can drive Tetanus with only a bit of tinkering.
    Win win!
    I’ve also got one of those tiny denso alternators and it would be a shame to change that out.

    But it all goes in the memory bank for later.

    Chaley
    And on the 6th day Man created god.
    Tetanus

  12. #9
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    12,690
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is offline
    you could use one of these under the floor with your existing pedal https://www.rallydesign.co.uk/produc...oducts_id=4045
    or for matching pedals either of these on the floor, maybe with the cylinders through the lower bulkhead?
    https://www.rallydesign.co.uk/produc...ducts_id=13604
    https://www.rallydesign.co.uk/produc...ducts_id=24101
    neil.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  13. #10
    Grown up? Never!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    2,072
    Images
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    chaley is offline
    Cheers Neil,
    That last one was the one I was looking at, but I need a cable clutch one.

    Chaley
    And on the 6th day Man created god.
    Tetanus

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. WTD Wilwood dual circuit master cylinder
      By pitsspecial in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 09-03-2013, 20:32
    2. Single or Dual Circuit Master Cylinder ?
      By WB54 in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 31-08-2011, 21:47
    3. 7/8th or 22mm Dual Circuit Master Cylinder
      By WB54 in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 16-08-2011, 15:42
    4. Dual circuit Master cylinder.
      By 50AD3100 in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 03-04-2011, 04:36

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts