DVLA problems regarding engine swap - a warning!
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

DVLA problems regarding engine swap - a warning!

I'm currently modifying my Austin A35 - nothing too extreme, compared with what we rodders often see. One of the common changes, which I have done, is to swap the engine from a 948 to a midget 1275. No monocoque modifications are needed, it just bolts straight in. Being fairly diligent regarding legal requirements in March I sent my V5 to the DVLA to notify them that I'd changed the engine on my A35 to a 1275.

As I understood it, from the guidance the DVLA provide, if increasing the engine size you only needed to send details of the new capacity and the engine number - it's only when decreasing the capacity, which may have an impact on the amount of car tax to pay, depending on the age of the vehicle, that you have to provide evidence regarding the new engine size. Regardless of this I provided details of the engine number, capacity, photos of the engine and engine plate, and a copy of the receipt (which included the engine number) - the engine was purchased privately, rather than from a garage.

6 weeks later I received the V5 back, with no change to the details, and a letter stating that I must provide evidence of either:

- a receipt of purchase of the engine from a garage on headed paper (which obviously I can't do, and they would have known this from my covering letter)
    - an inspection report from an organisation such as the AA or RAC (I work on the car myself to save money - I'm not going to spend any that could go on the car on effectively nothing)
    - an inspection report provided for insurance purposes (?)
    - written confirmation from the manufacturer showing the engine number and size (could be tricky)