Electric fan Q [emoji106] - Page 3
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  1
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37
  1. #21
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie C10apache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    162
    Images
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    C10apache is offline
    Hi I've found a kit that I can use, what temp range am I looking for as there is a few to choose from??

    Regards Stuart

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #22
    Official RnS Addict WB54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Herts
    Posts
    4,588
    Images
    198
    Post Thanks / Like
    WB54 is offline
    if you have a twin set up I have a diagram which runs both and varies the speed to temp

  4. #23
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie C10apache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    162
    Images
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    C10apache is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by WB54 View Post
    if you have a twin set up I have a diagram which runs both and varies the speed to temp
    I only have one fan, I'm wondering what one I should get like if it comes on at 190 and shuts of at 170 for example??

    Regards Stuart

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #24
    Official RnS Addict WB54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Herts
    Posts
    4,588
    Images
    198
    Post Thanks / Like
    WB54 is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by C10apache View Post
    I only have one fan, I'm wondering what one I should get like if it comes on at 190 and shuts of at 170 for example??

    Regards Stuart

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
    sounds about right.

  7. #25
    Administrator blackpopracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Slough
    Posts
    8,721
    Images
    1754
    Post Thanks / Like
    blackpopracing is offline
    Can you confirm what engine you are using again?

    If its a SBC then fan cutting in at about 200 and shutting off at around 190 is about right. Shutting off at 170 is too cold and probably wont ever shut off as you wont get the temps that low. Engines need to be a minimum of 180/185 to evaporate off the water vapour in the oil.

  8. #26
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie C10apache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    162
    Images
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    C10apache is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by blackpopracing View Post
    Can you confirm what engine you are using again?

    If its a SBC then fan cutting in at about 200 and shutting off at around 190 is about right. Shutting off at 170 is too cold and probably wont ever shut off as you wont get the temps that low. Engines need to be a minimum of 180/185 to evaporate off the water vapour in the oil.
    Yeah it's a stock 350sbc there is a kit that does those temps

    Regards Stuart

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

  9. #27
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie C10apache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    162
    Images
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    C10apache is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by blackpopracing View Post
    Can you confirm what engine you are using again?

    If its a SBC then fan cutting in at about 200 and shutting off at around 190 is about right. Shutting off at 170 is too cold and probably wont ever shut off as you wont get the temps that low. Engines need to be a minimum of 180/185 to evaporate off the water vapour in the oil.
    This is the kit I was thinking of???

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

  10. #28
    Administrator blackpopracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Slough
    Posts
    8,721
    Images
    1754
    Post Thanks / Like
    blackpopracing is offline
    That should work fine (though you could to your local Allparts or Euro Car parts and order a switch for about £10 and a relay for about a fiver?)

    You might need to play with the temp sensor to get it right which is why I went back to my adjustable Kenlowe controller in the end as I just could not get the right temp sender range to suit my car (which was a bit tricky to be fair).

    Your truck should be easier as its a much bigger engine bay so should behave better to the controller.

  11. #29
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie C10apache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    162
    Images
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    C10apache is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by blackpopracing View Post
    That should work fine (though you could to your local Allparts or Euro Car parts and order a switch for about £10 and a relay for about a fiver?)

    You might need to play with the temp sensor to get it right which is why I went back to my adjustable Kenlowe controller in the end as I just could not get the right temp sender range to suit my car (which was a bit tricky to be fair).

    Your truck should be easier as its a much bigger engine bay so should behave better to the controller.
    Perfect thanks for the help I've got a order going in today anyway so I'll just add it on

    Regards Stuart

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

  12. #30
    Official RnS Addict timbo56's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    S E London
    Posts
    873
    Images
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    timbo56 is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by blackpopracing View Post
    That should work fine (though you could to your local Allparts or Euro Car parts and order a switch for about £10 and a relay for about a fiver?)

    You might need to play with the temp sensor to get it right which is why I went back to my adjustable Kenlowe controller in the end as I just could not get the right temp sender range to suit my car (which was a bit tricky to be fair).

    Your truck should be easier as its a much bigger engine bay so should behave better to the controller.
    There's nothing like spending £100+ on something from the states when a £20 fix from Euros will work, probably better.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Air cleaner Q [emoji106]
      By C10apache in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 12-04-2019, 20:02
    2. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 14-06-2015, 18:34
    3. electric fan and mting bracket
      By spondon in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 04-12-2009, 08:24
    4. 11" electric fan
      By cjh in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 17-09-2009, 20:05
    5. mr gasket electric 16 inch fan
      By Five-Five in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 14-07-2009, 00:45

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •