Essex V6 ignition help please... - Page 5
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 67
  1. #41
    Burn out champ 2010 Dusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    1,680
    Images
    223
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1
    Dusty is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by brading View Post
    Hi Dusty what I said to Guy to do in my reply 14 was just to turn the iginition on, remove the cable form the VE+ terminal and check what voltage he had at the cable if it was 9v it is ballasted if 12v it is non ballasted. Then Guy replied in 31 that he was get 12v which would mean that it is non ballasted. When he said that he was getting 9v across the 2 terminals when it was running I take it that that he had his meter on the VE+ and VE- terminals if so then when the points are closed you would get 12v and when open 0v. Now as the points are opening and closing very quickly the meter would not be able to get up to 12v but might get to around 9v.
    Apologies Paul, that slipped past me

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #42
    Official RnS Addict bigyellataxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    5,696
    Images
    594
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigyellataxi is offline
    Well, I stick of fuel, the carb has had everything removed and cleaned and blown out, I'm going to replace it and try again, but possibly not until the weekend.

    I have been in touch with an old school carb shop local to me, they would rather have the whole car (not going to happen) but they can check it out visually and stuff, and they have a bloke who has a static motor that it could be put on, cost £60 + vat.

    Now I'm hoping my fiddle around and stuff has worked, because that'd be me birthday money gone...

    I also found a Gunson tuner thingy that I forgot I had, it can test dwell etc so if the carb stops overfuelling I'll have a crack at that too.

    Fueled by Jim and Luckies.
    Still doing all the shit I used to ;-)

  4. #43
    Compulsive chicken choker English Impala's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
    Posts
    6,251
    Images
    1038
    Post Thanks / Like
    English Impala is offline
    Is it definitely a 3.0 and not a 2.5 possibly leading to it being over-fueled?

  5. #44
    Official RnS Addict brading's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kings Lynn
    Posts
    3,142
    Images
    444
    Post Thanks / Like
    brading is online now
    Quote Originally Posted by Dusty View Post
    Apologies Paul, that slipped past me
    No Need for apologies Dusty glad you brought it up, I did check go back through the thread in case I had made a mistake as that was possible. Cheers Paul
    Last edited by brading; 23-02-2015 at 21:16.

  6. #45
    Official RnS Addict bigyellataxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    5,696
    Images
    594
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigyellataxi is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by English Impala View Post
    Is it definitely a 3.0 and not a 2.5 possibly leading to it being over-fueled?
    Not unless it's been bored to a 3+ litre Gary, came out of a running Scimitar (about 9 years ago).

    I've have the carb completely to bits (well, I didn't take out the spindles/butterflies) cleaned it all, blown out all the jets, reset float height, replaced all the hoses (just in case) and it's still puking fuel into the choke side venturi...

    I might have to take it off again and give it to the carb place, I'd love to take the whole car there so they can see it running, but they are the otherside of Leicester and I have no trailer/transporter.

    Really really getting on me tits now.

    Fueled by Jim and Luckies.
    Still doing all the shit I used to ;-)

  7. #46
    Semi Proffessional Prat sidspop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    YamYam central
    Posts
    3,489
    Images
    453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    74
    sidspop is offline
    What fuel pump is it Guy?
    Its either you lay down and die or you get on with your shit till you do!!!!! No Other Way Around It. One or the other. Don't worry about being forgotten, you will. Rather worry about in how long it will take for you to be forgotten, bro.

  8. #47
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,465
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    You may have it set up incorrectly and also involves timing as I mentioned before. Set the mixture screws at 1.5 turns out ,back the throttle idle off until it doesn't just doesn't touch and then turn that in 1.5 turns only . If you already have the idle screwed out more than 1.5 turns this can open the transition holes and make it run rich which in turn will destroy vacuum and make the fuel drop in instead of atomising .

    With the carb set up as above then set your points gap correctly ( there are two different settings dependent on make of dizzy) and then start and adjust your timing by moving the dizzy until you get the best idle and then back off slightly .

  9. #48
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    13,143
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is online now
    Quote Originally Posted by bigyellataxi View Post
    Not unless it's been bored to a 3+ litre Gary, came out of a running Scimitar (about 9 years ago)
    could still be a 2.5, the difference was stroke not bore.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  10. #49
    Official RnS Addict brading's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kings Lynn
    Posts
    3,142
    Images
    444
    Post Thanks / Like
    brading is online now
    Kapri I know Guys distributor is a Motocraft one but no idea what the points gap should be. Do not know if it is the same as the 2.8 which is 0.025in - 0.64mm
    Last edited by brading; 24-02-2015 at 22:24.

  11. #50
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,465
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    .65mm ( no idea in thou" ) . Also check the gap on ALL lobes, wouldn't be the first with a twisted shaft I've come across.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 4 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 4 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 2
      Last Post: 24-08-2013, 12:40
    2. Off Topic Help please - Daily - BMW
      By shoebox in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 18-01-2011, 05:31
    3. speedo help please
      By wheelie in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 03-09-2009, 14:21
    4. help please
      By 58 delray in forum Chat
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 08-07-2009, 08:03
    5. Help please folks !!
      By andy fadster in forum On Topic
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 06-07-2009, 18:17

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •