Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

Fiat Twin Cam on Bike Carbs

Started this as a new thread - following my issues with ignition and then finding a carb issue I'm looking at outing the twin 45's and replacing with a set of bike carbs. I think I much prefer a set of bike carbs as I've played with these a lot more, having run my 1800 Zetec lump on a set of GSXR600 carbs for years. Never went off the boil or needed fiddling with! So Has anybody any experience of Bike Carbs on a 2ltr Twincam -if so what carb set did you use and roughly what size main and pilots did you run? (Just gives me a starting point) Not sure if anyone supplies an inlet manifold as standard for one, if so that will dictate choice of carbs. Any tips gratefully received!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Look forward to hearing what results you get as I've got a Fiat TC in a minor that could do with better carburation than stock. As stock, there always seems to be flatspots and off idle hesitation with these engines, and I thought a pair of dellortos may solve it, but as engine is out the car just now, will be a longer term project. Best carburation on a Fiat was the twin downdrafts fitted to the 1600's, but these will be like hen's teeth. I'm sure Bogg brothers will do an intake though.

Pete

Official RnS Addict
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    The twin downdraught Solexes did give plenty of oomph on my 1608cc 124 Sport, but with an attendant 16mpg! If you should find a pair of these carbs and manifold be careful as Fiat in their wisdom made the later engine with a totally different block and head and the bits aren't interchangeable even though they look superficially the same. The chap to talk to is Guy Croft (Googlable) who's spent a lifetime tuning these engines.

5. Remove Advertisements