Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

Fiat Twin Cam issues

Been a while since I've posted, but new motor now so new problems!. Basically running a rod with an early Lancia Beta TwinCam motor (same as the Fiat twin Cam) - first thing I've found is any info on the engine is hard to define as there are so many variables. However this one is running Bosch electronic ignition and twin 45's.
    Few days back coming home motor died, no warning, pulled over, keyed the ignition fired instantly and off we went, about 3 minutes later same thing just as we drove onto our drive. Then wouldn't start at all, left it for a few days, cleaned plugs up, checked leads, dissy cap and rotor, all almost new. Stuck them back on, fired first time, ticked over revved, 10 minutes in dies. Won't start - 3 - 4 hours later starts runs 10 min then dies. Def electrical as no spluttering etc just like hitting a kill switch. Any ideas? (Also checked earths and connections so far) Beginnng to wonder if the ECU is playing up, if so 2nd part of the question, anyone set up one of these twin cams with a megajolt unit?
    Just looking at options as sunny days will be here soon!
    Cheers all

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Official RnS Addict ChopperHarris's Avatar
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    sounds like a fuel issue to me, at least check float bowls for fuel after it dies

Official RnS Addict
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    coil getting hot?
    at least dick turpin had the decency to wear a mask!

5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'd look at fuel first as well .If it isn't used regularly you can get ethanol gum deposits on needle valves that cause all sorts or issues.

Images
    Post Thanks / Like