Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

First Classic Car - 1965 Hillman Super Minx

Hello all, first time here so go easy on me!

After wanting a classic since I began driving, I've finally bought myself my first classic car. It's a 1965 Hillman Super Minx, 1.6 Saloon.

Mechanically the car is sound - engine idles nicely and the drive is comfortable. Just needs a bit of work doing on the handbrake and rear service brakes. The bodywork is where the issue is however - although there's no surface rust visible on the body, the rear sills need replacing to pass an MOT as well as the front arches. There is also some rot in the drivers footwell on the floor where a small hole is beginning to form.

I can't do any of the welding so will take it to a local restorer, however I can do the brakes and look at the small oil leak coming from somewhere under the engine. Luckily parts seems fairly easy to get hold of for these so I believe I can do, but I was hoping for a few bits of advice beore I got started.

- Where is the best point to jack the car up?
    - How easy is it to remove the fornt wings?
    - Any other general bits of advice

Hope somebody could help - I want to see the store back to original condition and although I know it'll take time, I have the help and steady funds
    to get me going.

IMG_1400.jpgIMG_1399.JPGIMG_1401.jpgIMG_1403.jpg
    Last edited by CWhaley1; 12-07-2016 at 11:26.

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Best place to jack any old car up is by the axles or cross members, avoid using any part of the body shell unless you are sure of it. Most old cars had built in jacking points and as sods law dictates these are often the first place to rot (ask me how I know)