Fuel sender Q??
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  7
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Fuel sender Q??

  1. #1
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie C10apache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    158
    Images
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    C10apache is offline

    Fuel sender Q??

    Hi folks I was wondering if my fuel sender needs grounding??

    My sender has only one terminal post on it which I have attached the power wire from my loom,

    What would be the best way to ground it do you think??

    Regards Stuart

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    12,635
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is offline
    the sender is metal and grounds to the tank. the tank is metal and grounds to it's brackets. the brackets are metal and ground to the chassis. the chassis 'is' ground so........
    sort of like your ankle bone connects to your shin bone etc........
    neil.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  4. Likeskapri liked this post
  5. #3
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie C10apache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    158
    Images
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    C10apache is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by mygasser View Post
    the sender is metal and grounds to the tank. the tank is metal and grounds to it's brackets. the brackets are metal and ground to the chassis. the chassis 'is' ground so........
    sort of like your ankle bone connects to your shin bone etc........
    neil.
    Lol so no ground required

    Regards Stuart

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

  6. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  7. #4
    Official RnS Addict timbo56's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    S E London
    Posts
    865
    Images
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    timbo56 is offline
    If you want to be doubly sure you could run an earth wire from one of the five fixing bolts to a good earth point on the chassis.

  8. Likesmygasser, stu460 liked this post
  9. #5
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie C10apache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    158
    Images
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    C10apache is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by timbo56 View Post
    If you want to be doubly sure you could run an earth wire from one of the five fixing bolts to a good earth point on the chassis.
    Cheers yeah I did think of doing that I'll put one on just incase

    Regards

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

  10. #6
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie shovelheadrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cambs
    Posts
    329
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    shovelheadrob is offline
    Or just check for continuity with a multi meter, between the body of the sender & the chassis? In theory if there's a rubber gasket between the sender & the tank, then rubber protection between the tank & the mounting straps or between the tank & the body, it could fail to earth that way.

  11. Likeskapri liked this post
  12. #7
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Norn Iron
    Posts
    329
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    stevieturbo is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by C10apache View Post
    Lol so no ground required

    Regards Stuart

    Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
    No, he's saying he assumes the tank ( and indirectly the sender ) should be grounded already.

    But absolutely yes the sender needs grounded.

  13. #8
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    12,635
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by stevieturbo View Post
    No, he's saying he assumes the tank ( and indirectly the sender ) should be grounded already.

    But absolutely yes the sender needs grounded.
    it might, it might not. it is a fair assumption with metal parts bolted together. agreed, it's cheap insurance at the stage of the build he's at though.
    Last edited by mygasser; 30-03-2019 at 17:45.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  14. #9
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    12,635
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by shovelheadrob View Post
    Or just check for continuity with a multi meter, between the body of the sender & the chassis? In theory if there's a rubber gasket between the sender & the tank, then rubber protection between the tank & the mounting straps or between the tank & the body, it could fail to earth that way.
    a multi meter check would confirm it but a gasket wouldn't stop the nuts and washers touching the sender so earthing it to the tank. if there are rubber/fibre 'seals' around the studs then an earth wire on any of the studs still wouldn't earth it either. so yes the multi meter check is the best first course of action. and yes an earth wire would be cheap insurance at this stage of the build.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  15. #10
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Norn Iron
    Posts
    329
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    stevieturbo is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by mygasser View Post
    it might, it might not. it is a fair assumption with metal parts bolted together. agreed, it's cheap insurance at the stage of the build he's at though.
    Except as shovel said....it should also be an assumption it is not 100% directly all bolted to metal and there is some means of cushion/isolation from the chassis. Whether via straps, rubber, whatever.

    So I would assume the tank is not a reliable earth, unless it has been given a reliable earth. And I guess he's asking because his gauge didnt work ?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 2
      Last Post: 18-05-2014, 18:00
    2. Fuel sender/fuea guage reading's
      By roofer in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 09-08-2009, 17:38
    3. fuel sender/slow starting
      By jack earls in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 09-06-2009, 18:16
    4. how to measure fuel tank for sender
      By jack earls in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 07-06-2009, 00:05
    5. 40's ford fuel sender unit
      By jack earls in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 26-04-2009, 08:37

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •