Help needed with JAG IRS setup - Page 2
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
  1. #11
    Official RnS Addict chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Melksham Wiltshire
    Posts
    1,081
    Images
    278
    Post Thanks / Like
    chris is offline

    Re: Help needed with JAG IRS setup

    got it - thanks flower

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #12
    I'm a grown up member now !
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    31
    Images
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    impala500 is offline

    Re: Help needed with JAG IRS setup

    Quote Originally Posted by kapri View Post
    Once you take it out of the cage , bolt the topdiff mounts solidly to a crossmember and do away with the big rubber bushes the geometry needs to be right. If it's incorrect it loads up the lower fulcrum bearings and wipes them out in short order.

    Like much rodding stuff the inadequacies of many rodding designs is hidden by low mileages.
    Ahh, ok then I have mounted mine on a bushed mount like this one:

    Will that make any difference? I am trying to keep the underside clean and not have and ground clearance problems, I will take some pictures soon once I can get a reader for the camera card
    Attached Images

  4. #13
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    22,930
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline

    Re: Help needed with JAG IRS setup

    The urethanes will provide a degree of insulation and movement but no where near as much as the rubber mounted cage.
    Go with the shorter bottom arm and it pivoting on a line drawn forward from the lower inner arm mount. Don't forget the anti climb bars, Wisbech do a nice kit with front tie bar etc that places it all where it needs to be and you just have to make the mounts from the rail out.

    The anti climb bars are especially important on a urethane mounted diff.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #14
    I'm a grown up member now !
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    31
    Images
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    impala500 is offline

    Re: Help needed with JAG IRS setup

    For though's that don't know the 59 Impala Chassis here are some details of it and how I have done the mods to it.
    Attached Images

  7. #15
    I'm a newbie !
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Acle Norfolk
    Posts
    1
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    sean hennessy is offline
    Hi have just overcome the same problem, in a nutshell you need to extend the line of the lower arm pivot point on the diff, the link can be anywhere on this line, to do this i took the nut off the pivot shaft and slid a 20mm solid bar with a hole up the end over it, i live in acle so not too far away. hope this helps

  8. #16
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    welwyn, herts
    Posts
    895
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    stilltrying is offline
    There are some who say that if the diff is solid mounted they are not needed at all unless you are running big horse power or a heavy body. My T doesn't have the radius rods but does have the anti climb straps.
    FadT hasn't fitted them to his T either and swears they are not necessary on a light rod like his, Nick Butler only fitted them to Andromeda because of the sheer power and if I'm not mistaken I don't think that the front mounts on it are in line with the lower diff section due to not enough room. The most important bit is the anti climb straps.
    As an aside to make the radius rods "stiffer" jaguar just put the front bush in the same housing but instead of having the cut outs in the rubber bush front and rear they turned it by 90 degrees so that there was a greater proportion of rubber to move before any give (all xjs's were done this way).

  9. #17
    I'm a newbie !
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    9
    Images
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    hotrod.0148 is offline
    Hi I am in the middle of relocating my tie rods too.
    Last edited by hotrod.0148; 09-05-2013 at 18:27.

  10. #18
    I'm a grown up member now ! jay1shrek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Margate
    Posts
    93
    Images
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    jay1shrek is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by chris View Post
    if fitting them 'forward' wont work couldnt they be fitted going backwards towards the rear ??????


    Just found this pic that might answer that


    Last edited by jay1shrek; 07-05-2013 at 12:14.

  11. #19
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    22,930
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by hotrod.0148 View Post


    Hi I am in the middle of relocating my tie rods too, these were fitted by the previous owner directly forwards , this is no good as they then follow an ark when lifted up and down and because the swing arm travels directly up and down this causes big binding problems and will break expensive stuff!
    Kev is (as usual) correct, the location is very important. I even tried without the tie rods too, Mmmm I would not recommend this , as a very snakey two laner on the motorway the other weekend left me and the better, very white . Nige
    Still having 'fun' then Nige ?

  12. #20
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    22,930
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by jay1shrek View Post


    Just found this pic that might answer that


    Never thought about iy but most rods area bit short at the back. Bushes may need to be changed as the rotational load is going the other way so joints will be in tension as opposed to compression.

    EDIT .Without spending ages looking at it ( cos it's only a theoretical question at the mo ) I'm guessing ttha it will do weird things to the tyre hook up and launching.
    Last edited by kapri; 07-05-2013 at 13:00.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. 4 bar setup
      By THE VIKING in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: 11-02-2010, 21:14
    2. 350 SBC baseline setup help needed!
      By Kustom Jim in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 11-02-2010, 17:18
    3. Setup day GNRS.
      By 33Hemi in forum On Topic
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 29-01-2010, 13:11
    4. lol probably a setup but pretty funny
      By jonesyspop in forum On Topic
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 04-08-2009, 12:40
    5. 4 bar setup ?
      By THE VIKING in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 18-05-2009, 09:38

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •