Help needed with JAG IRS setup - Page 3
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    I'm a newbie !
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    9
    Images
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    hotrod.0148 is offline
    I have now fixed the Diff, and it runs fine with no leaks etc. I now want it to drive nicer, so its on-going fiddling with the suspension,tracking etc.
    It does seem every time I change one thing , it means changing one or two other things first, normaly the ruddy exhausts! Nige
    Last edited by hotrod.0148; 09-05-2013 at 18:26.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #22
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    388
    Images
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Pistonpusher is offline
    Did not use any tie bars on my set up, this is how the AK cobra is set up and they have several hundred cars running around the country with several thousands of miles and with various horse power motors. Simple and works very well as another option. See my build thread, the first page or so should show what I have. Pistonpushers Pop Build | Gearjammers

  4. #23
    I'm a newbie !
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    9
    Images
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    hotrod.0148 is offline
    Super smart work. Way too clever for me!
    Last edited by hotrod.0148; 09-05-2013 at 17:03.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #24
    . Captain Scarlet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Supermarionation
    Posts
    1,411
    Images
    149
    Post Thanks / Like
    Captain Scarlet is offline
    Ran my 350 chev powered Pop for 33 years with no outer radius rods,no problems,Drag raced it ,streetkhana'd it,no handling problems at all,diff is solid on x member (not insulated) and has the torque straps.

  7. #25
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    welwyn, herts
    Posts
    895
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    stilltrying is offline
    As I said earlier in this thread my T hasn't been designed to have the radius rods and having Gerry show me that his has no movement and also doesn't have the rods I am a little less worried about the lack of them, HOWEVER, my concern is that the rear tyres are very wide and the axle hasn't been narrowed so it sits just over 7 feet wide and therefore the "possible" twisting motion is going to be held in check by the 4 diff bolts, a pair of coil overs and the torque straps.
    I'm going to be watching what happens on a regular basis and will, if found necessary, retro fit some rods

  8. #26
    . Captain Scarlet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Supermarionation
    Posts
    1,411
    Images
    149
    Post Thanks / Like
    Captain Scarlet is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by stilltrying View Post
    As I said earlier in this thread my T hasn't been designed to have the radius rods and having Gerry show me that his has no movement and also doesn't have the rods I am a little less worried about the lack of them, HOWEVER, my concern is that the rear tyres are very wide and the axle hasn't been narrowed so it sits just over 7 feet wide and therefore the "possible" twisting motion is going to be held in check by the 4 diff bolts, a pair of coil overs and the torque straps.
    I'm going to be watching what happens on a regular basis and will, if found necessary, retro fit some rods
    Good point made,the width of the axle is well worth taking into consideration,as are other factors that may affect the stress's and loads,our cars and the methods of mounting the diff are wide and varied, each car should be evaluated individually.

  9. #27
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    388
    Images
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Pistonpusher is offline
    Totally agree with captain very wide will add more leverage for sure, jag axles are not he cheapest to repair/rebuild either

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. 4 bar setup
      By THE VIKING in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: 11-02-2010, 21:14
    2. 350 SBC baseline setup help needed!
      By Kustom Jim in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 11-02-2010, 17:18
    3. Setup day GNRS.
      By 33Hemi in forum On Topic
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 29-01-2010, 13:11
    4. lol probably a setup but pretty funny
      By jonesyspop in forum On Topic
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 04-08-2009, 12:40
    5. 4 bar setup ?
      By THE VIKING in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 18-05-2009, 09:38

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •