help please sbc, wont turn over , what have i done
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    I'm a grown up member now !
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    sunny portsmouth
    Posts
    67
    Images
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    MrtsCOE is offline

    help please sbc, wont turn over , what have i done

    hello guys, hope you can help me please.
    i have swapped my sbc for a fresher one. used flywheel torque converter starter etc from my old engine. removed a bronze bush from the new engines crank (as it was a manual) then bolted it all back up to the original 350 gearbox.
    so, tried to turn it over by hand... very very stiff.. removed starter, still the same... took out gearbox bell housing bolts, the gearbox moved back about 10mm and now i can turn the engine by hand (with the plugs out)
    any ideas gentlemen ? there is no thin plate between engine and box, and i cant find any where saying it should have one.
    appreciate any help. happy crimbo

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict beach57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    stourport
    Posts
    5,524
    Images
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    beach57 is offline
    The converter might not have seated correctly do not tighten bolts back up till this has been sorted ,I would remove box and refit converter till its sits correctly there should be a measurement on the web somewhere.

  4. #3
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    12,805
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is online now
    if not, is the flexplate bolted on the right way round? or does the crank stick out further from the block face more than the old engine? if it does you'll need the right flexplate to allow for the offset. regards, neil.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Official RnS Addict Zody's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    1,769
    Images
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3
    Zody is offline
    Hi

    Sounds like the converter is not lined up in the pump drive in your gearbox ?
    The converter should have at least 1/8" or so free play between the flex plate before
    pulling the converter foward to bolt it to the flex plate..

    Bob
    The car is open, the keys are under the dog !

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict beach57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    stourport
    Posts
    5,524
    Images
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    beach57 is offline
    Just reading it says push converter on shaft and spin clockwise till then you will a second clunk as hub aligns if not if not remove and retry till you do.

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict beach57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    stourport
    Posts
    5,524
    Images
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    beach57 is offline
    There's a post on youtube on what to look for when fitting a converter,type in fitting a gm 350 torque converter

  9. #7
    Exceeded sell by date Plumpcars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London Heathrowish!
    Posts
    7,721
    Images
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Plumpcars is offline
    Converter definitely. You need to drop it in with a couple of distinct clunks whilst turning it back and forth. Don't be brutal just let it do its thing.

  10. #8
    matt black is for chalk lil miss petrolhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    north lincs
    Posts
    640
    Images
    228
    Post Thanks / Like
    lil miss petrolhead is offline
    agreed -deffo converter locking up,had the same prob with my daimler hearse,{gm400 box)

  11. #9
    Official RnS Addict LUCKY777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    west yorks
    Posts
    2,765
    Images
    127
    Post Thanks / Like
    LUCKY777 is offline
    Converter
    visit us at www.luckydevil777dragracing.com "life isnt an audition"

  12. #10
    I'm a grown up member now !
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    sunny portsmouth
    Posts
    67
    Images
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    MrtsCOE is offline
    thankyou so much for your replys, this is the first time ive used the site to ask a question, so impressed with all your help.
    i bolted the converter to the flywheel , then pushed the box on, should i have put the converter on the box. then push it up to the flexiplate ?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. What have you done to your car today.
      By roofer in forum On Topic
      Replies: 717
      Last Post: 13-10-2014, 19:19
    2. Replies: 4
      Last Post: 02-09-2011, 09:15
    3. ooops! What have i done?
      By BRIT DIGGER in forum On Topic
      Replies: 50
      Last Post: 08-07-2010, 22:46
    4. Oh Dear What Have I Done
      By buz in forum Who are ya ??
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 25-04-2009, 08:55

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •