How to 'dial in' a cam......
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 103
  1. #1
    Full Bloody Rebel! Mad Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lower Kingswood, Surrey
    Posts
    3,426
    Images
    185
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mad Mark is offline

    How to 'dial in' a cam......

    Hi Guys

    I'm getting the feeling that the cam in my car is still not timed right (or the followers are not suitable for the cam & valve springs), as I have tried to get it to run, but it still won't work under 2000 rpm.

    I understand the 50thou point on lift to get a standard, but once I have the degrees of open/close for inlet/exhaust how can I get the alignment right?
    I have no data sheet on the cam and no-one seems to be able to tell me what the cam is, even though I have posted on Trifive and here.

    Is this possible, or would it be best to buy a new cam and followers? (Mind, this might still be a problem as the valve springs may then not match........ Or am I trying too hard?)

    Thanks
    If I wasn't meant to go that fast, the pedal would only go half way!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie newboldspeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    chesterfield
    Posts
    441
    Images
    308
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    10
    newboldspeed is offline
    Whats the distributer?

  4. #3
    Official RnS Addict 1stpop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    isle of sheppey kent
    Posts
    2,484
    Images
    48
    Post Thanks / Like
    1stpop is offline
    We are just about to dial in the cam on my mopar , this is the way I understand it
    From what I understand it to check the crank , cam , timing gears etc as one of the items may have been a Friday afternoon special ( wrong )
    Got to find top dead centre on number 1 , we have made a spark plug stop , so can wind it around twice both ways to find top dead centre , then we got a pointer gauge a degree wheel and a dial indicator
    To make sure I'm getting the correct lift at the correct time , inlet and exhaust .but this is on the cam card , so without that info , I think its going to be awkward .
    But I have had to order new push rods as went to set valve lash and they were already open when rocker shaft was bolted down , so when I put the new cam in my push rods were to long, so made an adjustable rod to check lash, I'm using hydrolic lifters in mine , not solid .
    Home much is a new cam kit for your engine maybe including springs if its unknown .?

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Full Bloody Rebel! Mad Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lower Kingswood, Surrey
    Posts
    3,426
    Images
    185
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mad Mark is offline
    It's a standard dizzy, but with Pertronix fitted.

    That's my problem as I bought the car woth the cam in, but stripped the engine to re-build it. All is back as it came out except the followers. If I can get the degrees, can a guess be made as to where I align it to the crank?
    If I wasn't meant to go that fast, the pedal would only go half way!

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict beach57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    stourport
    Posts
    5,524
    Images
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    beach57 is offline
    By the time you have bought the degree wheel DTI etc,would be cheaper to buy a cam kit ,then you you know what you have ,and have you tried running engine with a different dizzy.

  8. #6
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie LazySteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    146
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    LazySteve is offline
    If it's bad at low revs but better higher up it sounds like it's too far advanced (valves opening too early) but probably not by a lot or it wouldn't run at all. You could try moving the cam back a tooth and see if it improves. If you can rig it up to run with the timing cover off (short burst - no cooling etc.) you can maybe do a bit of trial and error 'til it seems right.

  9. #7
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie newboldspeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    chesterfield
    Posts
    441
    Images
    308
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    10
    newboldspeed is offline
    You say the engine will not run below 2000rpm.

    But the engine runs.

    My first job would be to check the pickup in the dissy.
    You can have a gap of 40 thou and engine will not run at low revs.
    You can hane a gap of 15 thou and the motor will run fine at low revs.

    This would be my 1st check.

  10. #8
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    surrey
    Posts
    1,662
    Images
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    robo1 is offline
    If you have a degree wheel and a dti why not just measure what you have in terms of lift,duration and lobe separation. For the sake of an hour you will know what you have and with that info a quick cross reference should point at the maker. Just thoughts.

    Bob

  11. #9
    Official RnS Addict beach57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    stourport
    Posts
    5,524
    Images
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    beach57 is offline
    What about videoing the engine as is and putting it on youtube ,also thinking is this something we all could do when we have a problem ?,

  12. #10
    Exceeded sell by date Plumpcars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London Heathrowish!
    Posts
    7,710
    Images
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Plumpcars is offline
    Mark this is crazy. I don't see how you could build an engine without knowing what is in there? Why not just rip out the cam and put a new cam/lifters/springs/timing set in there? These engines are simple and yours is mild so there should be no problems in setting it up?
    You had nothing but trouble with this set up before. You are putting together a car with an unknown camshaft... How do you know what the characteristics will be? How do you know that you will be happy with it? Will it be compatible? This cam may be nothing more than a cheap stock regrind. To me you have spent far too long suffering stress with unknown qualities, why not just spend a weekend putting in something that will work in the way that you want it to and be simple to set up?
    Last edited by Plumpcars; 11-05-2013 at 09:52.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 14
      Last Post: 07-04-2012, 16:26
    2. How hard are ........
      By vince-305 in forum Who are ya ??
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 23-01-2010, 08:42
    3. How do!!
      By Carl jacko in forum Who are ya ??
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 25-04-2009, 20:44
    4. How do?
      By Doubledoyle in forum Who are ya ??
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 20-04-2009, 21:51
    5. how do
      By Greezygringo in forum Who are ya ??
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 20-04-2009, 21:10

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •