How to tell the difference between a T35 and a C3 gearbox
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    I'm a newbie !
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Theale/Berkshire
    Posts
    14
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigblue is offline

    How to tell the difference between a T35 and a C3 gearbox

    Evening all

    Seems that everythings going wrong today, Mondeo has blown a turbo (just been quoted £2 grand!) so to cheer myself up thought I would take my cobra for a spin, reversed out of the garage, put it in drive and.......nothing. I ended up reversing all across the front garden to get it back near the garage.
    Does anyone have any suggestion regarding what the problem could be, it engages reverse, it engages neutral but no D or 1 or 2
    Could it be low on ATF? I know the dipstick is showing some oil but I also am aware that it should be measured when warm not cold as it increases up the dipstick line
    Is there an obvious way to tell the difference between a C3 and a T35 as I've had 3 people tell me that I have each of these in the car and I can't work out which one I have?

    Any ideas
    Last edited by bigblue; 06-08-2015 at 20:44.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    12,756
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is offline
    what engine is in the car and any pics of the trans?
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  4. #3
    Official RnS Addict fad15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    bucks
    Posts
    6,015
    Images
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3
    fad15 is offline
    Loosing R can be a sign of low fluid. Check the level with the engine running and in P. Lower line on the dip stick when cold. Top line when fully warmed up. eg after a couple of mile run.
    built by hand NOT by computer

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    I'm a newbie !
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Theale/Berkshire
    Posts
    14
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigblue is offline
    Hi Mygasser

    Its a Ford 302 in a Cobra. I will try to get under the car and get some pics over the weekend

    Cheers

    Jeff

  7. #5
    I'm a newbie !
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Theale/Berkshire
    Posts
    14
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigblue is offline
    Hi Fad15

    Checked the fluids and they were low, topped up a couple of hundred ml but can get the gearbox warmed up as unable to engage drive.
    New to all this and trying to learn fast

    Jeff

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict mygasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    faversham, kent
    Posts
    12,756
    Images
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    mygasser is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by bigblue View Post
    Hi Mygasser

    Its a Ford 302 in a Cobra. I will try to get under the car and get some pics over the weekend

    Cheers

    Jeff
    they didn't fit a c3 to a 302 jeff, c4 maybe.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

  9. #7
    Official RnS Addict bigyellataxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    5,694
    Images
    594
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigyellataxi is offline
    A T35 behind a 302

    Try this: Automatic Transmission Identification Guide - FORDification.com and look at your transmission sump

    Fueled by Jim and Luckies.
    Still doing all the shit I used to ;-)

  10. #8
    Official RnS Addict fad15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    bucks
    Posts
    6,015
    Images
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3
    fad15 is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by bigblue View Post
    Hi Fad15

    Checked the fluids and they were low, topped up a couple of hundred ml but can get the gearbox warmed up as unable to engage drive.
    New to all this and trying to learn fast

    Jeff
    As in, cant move the gear lever, or can move it into D but no drive? Does it still have reverse?
    built by hand NOT by computer

  11. #9
    I'm a newbie !
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Theale/Berkshire
    Posts
    14
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigblue is offline
    Hi ALL

    Had a friend from the Cobra club come over last night, looks like its a C4 but whats throwing him is the selector PRND321, he's only known them to have PRND21.I went across to Reel Steel and bought a shift kit and ATF for it today.
    The gearbox still selects reverse no problem, and neutral but as soon as it goes into drive or 3/2/1 there is absolutely nothing.
    I am new to all this so am struggling to get to terms with all the different names of the bits n pieces.
    Is there anyone out there who can recommend someone to look at it as I am at a total loss at the moment, I am in Theale just outside Reading J12 on M4

    Cheers

    Jeff

  12. #10
    Official RnS Addict bigyellataxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    5,694
    Images
    594
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigyellataxi is offline
    Jeff, do you have photo's???

    If its a four speed it could be an AOD, three speed would be a C4 (but only have PRND21).

    If you have bought a shift kit it might be wrong.

    Where does the dipstick enter the 'box??

    Does it have a vacuum modulator??

    What year 302 is it???

    I really wish I was closer...

    Fueled by Jim and Luckies.
    Still doing all the shit I used to ;-)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. whats the difference between a highline and lowline consul mk2?
      By streetfighter in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 01-03-2019, 20:09
    2. Replies: 3
      Last Post: 16-04-2012, 08:00
    3. The difference between "us" and "them"
      By PONCHO in forum Chat
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 16-10-2011, 22:38
    4. Replies: 11
      Last Post: 02-12-2010, 18:06
    5. The difference between men and women
      By Evil McNasty in forum Chat
      Replies: 15
      Last Post: 23-08-2010, 15:00

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •