mk 2 jag rad
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: mk 2 jag rad

  1. #1
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    bridgwater
    Posts
    289
    Images
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    sd156 is offline

    mk 2 jag rad

    To save a few phone calls i just want a rough price on what a recore would be on a
    mark 2 jag rad. I realise every company can be different.

    See if the one i been offered is worth buying cause it needs a recore.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,800
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    The problem with Mk2 jags is which type of core is used as this affects the shape of the top tank and what core can be fitted. If the rad is very heavy and the core looks diamond shaped as opposed to standard zig zag or straight caross that's film core and is very expensive to replace to that standard. A modern core can be made to fit but takes a bit more time in labour and can restict the overall uprate size .

    Recore stock Jag rad probably in the £100-120 range ,film core more like £160 ish.

  4. #3
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    bridgwater
    Posts
    289
    Images
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    sd156 is offline
    Cheers kev


    could turn out a expensive rad then

    what else will fit in 32 grill and keep a rover v8 cool.

    I used to have a taxi rad in there and although it didnt boil it always seemed to run quite hot.

    Plus i needed a seperate expansion tank which is just too much stuff to fit in my engine bay and looked untidy.

    What does a custom made rad cost?

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,800
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    Taxi rad should have been good enough , any diesel rad is always an uprate on a petrol engined version.May have been passing through the rad too quick or simply shagged out .

    Pretty sure Mk 2 Consul ( shorter) or Zephyr (longer ) fit as well, nice shaped top tanks as well.100E shouldn't be too far out though are prone to silting up so really need to be looking at a recore, round about the £100 mark for either.

    Scratch built depends on what it's to cool as the main cost is in the core spec.

    As a rough starting price around the £150 +vat mark to cool up to about 300bhp but I can always get a specific quote against a drawing or donor rad with measurements.

  7. #5
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    bridgwater
    Posts
    289
    Images
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    sd156 is offline
    Its only a rover v8

    Is the £150 price on me supplying a exisiting rad or do they build one for scratch.

    Also i been meaning to phone you about my brakes and decided to go with the transit servo , do you know the diameter of a transit servo?

    Cheers

  8. #6
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,800
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    Price is for scratch building ,like I say would have to confirm with my old firm against a drawing .

    2 different sizes of servo ,9 inch or 9.5 .

  9. #7
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    bridgwater
    Posts
    289
    Images
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    sd156 is offline
    I will phone you tomorrow kev and speak about servo, i wont fit one of those under my car, i ve only got about eight inches max under my seat between chassis rail and inside chassis rail that goes along the the side of my gearbox and ties into the crossmember where my hairpins for back axle connect into.(long hairpins)

  10. #8
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,800
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    I think a Cortina combo is 7/8ths m/c with a 8 inch servo if that helps? You can always move it further back in th chassis to where you do have room and use an extended bar from pedal to servo. Likewise it's also possible to put it sticking through the floorpan under you seat if three is a problem with it hanging down.

  11. #9
    Official RnS Addict bigyellataxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    5,697
    Images
    594
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigyellataxi is offline
    I have got a mk2 Consul rad sitting here, it DOES need recoring, thats why I ain't (can't afford...) going to use it...


    Over to you...!!!

    Fueled by Jim and Luckies.
    Still doing all the shit I used to ;-)

  12. #10
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    bridgwater
    Posts
    289
    Images
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    sd156 is offline
    I ll keep you in mind what you asking for it?

    See if i can get a good one first

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •