MOT for Wildthing
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    I'm a newbie Wildthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    95
    Images
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Wildthing is offline

    MOT for Wildthing

    Right guys I need your help again, got her booked in for an MOT next Wednesday

    She is registered as 1951- Do I need

    Seatbelt?

    Speedo?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict choppedblownpop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    kent
    Posts
    2,900
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    choppedblownpop is offline
    Seatbelt - No
    Speedo - not sure

  4. #3
    I'm a newbie Wildthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    95
    Images
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Wildthing is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by choppedblownpop View Post
    Seatbelt - No
    Speedo - not sure
    Been told i could get round the speedo problem by putting my sat nav in. but if I don't need to I wont.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Official RnS Addict 35kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    up north
    Posts
    1,987
    Images
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    35kid is offline
    you need a speedo but im not sure it needs to work, they dont drive the car on the test so they wouldnt knew if it worked.

    hers a copy of the manual page MOT UK car and vehicle MOT information equipment car servicing parts and spares - vehicle condition
    Last edited by 35kid; 10-01-2012 at 10:21.

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict streetfighter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    lichfield staffs
    Posts
    4,451
    Images
    407
    Post Thanks / Like
    streetfighter is offline
    we dont test that it works, only that it lights up with the side lights on. Seatbelt exempt for your year, also allowed flashing red lights on rear for indicators and flashing white for front. no hazards, fog light etc

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    ........................................
    Posts
    502
    Images
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    spacer is offline
    Don't want to hi-jack the thread but would a speedo light be OK if it lit up independently of the side lights - ie off it's own switch? I may have to place some LED's or something in the cluster housing on a project as a temporary fix as am having all sorts of problems with the dash lights.

    Good luck with the MOT - you'll be made up when it passes!

  9. #7
    Official RnS Addict rodster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Selby north yorks
    Posts
    1,933
    Images
    128
    Post Thanks / Like
    rodster is offline
    needs to be switched with the side lights

  10. #8
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    ........................................
    Posts
    502
    Images
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    spacer is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by rodster View Post
    needs to be switched with the side lights
    Gotcha - thanks for the confirmation - I'll have to have another look at what is causing the dash lights to fail.

  11. #9
    I'm a newbie Wildthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    95
    Images
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Wildthing is offline
    Well she failed!!

    Mainly on the steering rack being too tight and bending the arms. £30.00 inc Vat for a new one and another few minor bits.

    So all in all i'm quite happy with the result

  12. #10
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    5,764
    Images
    57
    Post Thanks / Like
    40Stude is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by rodster View Post
    needs to be switched with the side lights
    That's interesting, as stock the dash lights on my Studebaker are on their own switch and that's been mot'd for the last twenty years.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 10
      Last Post: 10-03-2011, 13:53
    2. Chassis welding for MOT
      By mundungus in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 11
      Last Post: 10-02-2011, 23:55
    3. No fenders for MOT loophole
      By kapri in forum On Topic
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 16-11-2010, 22:31
    4. Replies: 11
      Last Post: 24-01-2010, 23:23

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •