pinto to standard mk2 consul 3 speed box ?
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    0 to 60 in 3 weeks hepcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    staffordshire
    Posts
    348
    Images
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    hepcat is offline

    pinto to standard mk2 consul 3 speed box ?

    hello everyone im new here i own a 1962 375 consul mk2 ,hoping to get it out for this summer .after getting many parts for her im now thinking os dropping a 2ltr pinto in , i know there one for sale via this site, ive contacted ,rob hes a sound guy .but i would like any info on how and what is needed to fit a pinto to a standard mk2 consul gear box ,so to keep it looking stock .? can anyone help in any way , if anyone as info plus reply
    cheers hepcat

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict falfasrevenge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    1,051
    Images
    40
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5
    falfasrevenge is offline
    Hiya bud............... think you need to move this as this is for your intro..............
    F**k the Circus !!!!

  4. #3
    Dragging not Bragging vince-305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S.E London
    Posts
    5,697
    Images
    510
    Post Thanks / Like
    vince-305 is offline
    Hi Hepcat

    Firstly as pointed out by my good mate falfasrevenge this is more of a techie Question more than an intro so ive moved it for ya

    And Welcome to Rods n Sods

    Secondly,
    I have helped fit the 5 speed to a 1703 with a little mod to the bell housing but not to sure about putting a pinto to the colume change
    Bit'z 'N' Piece's
    Ford consul mk2 chevy powered highrider

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,086
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    OK, I haven't done this conversion hands on myself ( well not to a Consul box but I've done it to 4 spped 3 rail boxes.) . I'm told that the later 3 rail box bellhousings bolt to the Consul box, that much I have to take on trust.

    You'd need to use a Mk 2 Cortina bellhousing that uses the larger slave cylinder which is needed due to using a diaphragm clutch cover. Also need the master cylinder sand clutch pipe to match ,it;s red plastic and has larger 7/16s pipe fittings.

    You use the Pinto flywheel and clutch cover with either the Consul plate or something else the same diameter and with the same splines.

    You will alos need to modify the Pinto sump as the rear sump will foul on the steering which alos means shortening the oil pick up pipe and adding a dipstick tube to the outside of the new front bowl.

    Mates of mine have done the swap as a complete Pinto and box and used the original cable clutch with the clutch pedal converted to pull the cable by welding to the top of the pedal ( watch getting the ratio reight ).

    If you want a nearer the front gearlever you can fit a long lever Transit 4 speed .I think you have to use the Transit adapter plate that bolts to the engine, and then to the gearbox, to make that one work.

  7. #5
    Dragging not Bragging vince-305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S.E London
    Posts
    5,697
    Images
    510
    Post Thanks / Like
    vince-305 is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by kapri View Post
    OK, I haven't done this conversion hands on myself ( well not to a Consul box but I've done it to 4 spped 3 rail boxes.) . I'm told that the later 3 rail box bellhousings bolt to the Consul box, that much I have to take on trust.

    You use the Pinto flywheel and clutch cover with either the Consul plate or something else the same diameter and with the same splines.

    .
    The consul bell housing fits the 5sd box Kev but have to drill/cut a hole/slot at the top of the mounting face as on the throw of the gear stick i think the rail (something metal) comes out the box (where the bellhousing bolts to in between the top 2 bolts)

    my termenology is poo
    Bit'z 'N' Piece's
    Ford consul mk2 chevy powered highrider

  8. #6
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,086
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    Thanks Vince ,so that would infer that it also works the other way round .

  9. #7
    Official RnS Addict scooder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bridgwater
    Posts
    727
    Images
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    scooder is offline
    It can be done using a 5 speed bellhousing and a MK2 Zep/Zod clutch plate (bigger than Consul one and a better match for the Pinto) Converting a MK2 to cable clutch aint as easy as most old Fords cus of the shape of the bulkhead, The MK2 pedals sit in a sort of box in the bulkhead rather than a flat fit as in Cortina 1/2 Corsair Anglia 100e and so on, and you can only just about get your finger tween the top of the pedals and the top of the box bit, I dont think theres enough room to put a cable pull on the top without cutting and shaping the bulkhead. Certanly do able just a bit more work.
    As has been said the sumps round the wrong way so will need cutting and turning, Preferble done bolted to a spare block and gas or tig welded, mig will leak at every stop and start of weld bead. Again do able with mig just needs lot of checking going over.
    I do worry about the torque low down of a Pinto compared to a Consul engine with the 3 speed box, I know that peak torque and power of the Pinto is loads better but it comes at lots more revs, And the 3 speed has got a long 1st gear I think some riding of the clutch maybe needed.
    In my experiance the Pinto sounds thrashyer at 70mph with Consul rear axle ratio than the Consul engine and definatly used more fuel.
    So may be a change in axle ratio, but remeber the 1st gear length, this will be made even worse if you chose a legeir axle ratio.
    If It were mine and I wanted to stay with column change I'd go for a 4 speed Zep6/Zod MK3 box and a 3.54:1 Zod diff.
    My Consul uses 2.0 Pinto + 5 speed + stock Consul 4.11:1 diff. This combo works loverly, really good aceleration and cruises at 70 efortlesly. And with the 2.0 5 speed box and 4.11's and 185x14 full profile comertial tyres (its a pickup) and stock Consul guages the speedo reads spot on.
    If your tall and yuo nudg the engine forward in the bay the gearstick should pop through just in front of the bench seat. I however am a short arse and the stick poped through under the seat (seat all the way forward and back 1 clic) so my stick comes strait up 2 " the drops back through the floor then forward 6" and down 30 Degrese then back up throught the floor and sweeps back with a hurst stick fikked on. Sounds odd but actualy works fine.
    Have fun and any probs let us know.
    Martin.

  10. #8
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    birmingham
    Posts
    246
    Images
    63
    Post Thanks / Like
    Greezygringo is offline
    Hi.Its definatley doable.I cant recall the exact way to do it but all the above is sound advice.I started with a pinto engine and box and the same from a consul on the garage floor and with a bit of mixing and matching it was all done quick smart.you'll soon get fed up with the 3 speed box tho'.As already said,look out for a mk3 4 speed and a steering box/column.Then you can keep the column change.I seem to remember buying a sump that was the other way round.I think it was from a German front wheel drive? Anybody refresh my memory? It was a long time ago.Lol
    Gaz

  11. #9
    Official RnS Addict scooder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bridgwater
    Posts
    727
    Images
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    scooder is offline
    Now this "I seem to remember buying a sump that was the other way round.I think it was from a German front wheel drive? Anybody refresh my memory? It was a long time ago." is interesting and I would like to know as this would be cool. I hate cutting and shutting sumps.
    Martin.

  12. #10
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,086
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    Don't know about German but didn't they make an ali front sump for the RS EScort ?

    When one of my mates used the cable clutch he brought the cable in and looped it so it went in from the front and connected under the pivot point, looked a bit scruffy but worked. Could even be doable like that with an idler or bellcrank bracket ?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. 2ltr Pinto, 4 speed box Runner
      By Andy Nineham in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 03-03-2010, 13:15
    2. pinto & 5 speed
      By 352 kum in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 21-02-2010, 11:22
    3. pinto to standard mk2 consul 3 speed box ?
      By hepcat in forum Who are ya ??
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 17-01-2010, 23:12
    4. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 11-01-2010, 16:08
    5. Standard 8 / 10 pics anyone?
      By farncombe pop in forum Chat
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 08-11-2009, 14:02

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •