Piston Ring gaps, I'm scratching my head..
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Semi Proffessional Prat sidspop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    YamYam central
    Posts
    3,489
    Images
    453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    74
    sidspop is offline

    Piston Ring gaps, I'm scratching my head..

    Just been messing about with my engine, ready to make a start on rebuilding it. I rebuilt my new block last year, but it's cack, cos I did a few things wrong. So had the original engine stripped, found out it was 60 thou overbored, and decided to use all the (balanced) rotating bits out of current engine in the new one. Follow so far? Good.
    I am the first to admit that some things confuse me, so I read up, ask advice, and read again.
    I have just dropped new piston rings into bores, and the ring gap is massive. The block is a 1703 Consul, which is 3.25" plus the 60 thou. That makes 3.310. All bores are close enough.
    The piston ring gap at the point of TDC is about 200 thou. I was under the impression that it should be about 3 thou per inch of bore, the manual says between 9 and 14 thou total.

    My initial thoughts were the box says 60 thou over, but the rings had been changed in the box, but looking on ebay there's a set, with the same markings. RA8146+60, and the mounting card says PSL21. Hepolite rings.

    Can anybody shed some light on this, or am I totally missing the bleeding obvious.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Administrator blackpopracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Slough
    Posts
    8,860
    Images
    1759
    Post Thanks / Like
    blackpopracing is offline
    Push rings down bore to about half way (use a piston to do this) and measure there, you should not measure at the top. Gap sounds enormous though?

  4. #3
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    suffolk
    Posts
    164
    Images
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    buick350 is offline
    I usually buy file to fit rings, some part research required methinks

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Semi Proffessional Prat sidspop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    YamYam central
    Posts
    3,489
    Images
    453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    74
    sidspop is offline
    It is. I had the block checked for taper, ovality etc. So the gap is still massive half way down.

    Regarding research, yes I agree. Just wondering if anybody has a Hepolite ring catalogue they can check the numbers in? Same numbers as here
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hepolite-P...60915050015%26

    and as usual those on ebay are considerably less than I paid.... oh well.


    Last edited by sidspop; 01-01-2013 at 16:44.

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict beach57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    stourport
    Posts
    5,529
    Images
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    beach57 is offline
    Acording to some pages it 004" per inch bore ,ie 4"bore 016" gap.

  8. #6
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,224
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is offline
    So all bores are unused and measure to be 0.060" rebore ? Those rings ( with the 0.200" gap) , were in your old engine which was also bored 0.060" ? Or are the rings new rings to be used on our old pistons ? Have you tried a ring from your old engine in the bore and checked gap ?

  9. #7
    drag race addict redvictor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,392
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    redvictor is offline
    Way too much Andy. You need to measure the bore and get some .005" bigger if you want .004" per inch, or just to the bore size to get probably.030".
    Europe's quickest and fastest street legal car. 4.09 @ 191 - 6.27 @ 237mph so far...
    IVA legal too!
    Penn Autos/Andy Frost race transmissions.
    www.redvictor1racing.co.uk

  10. #8
    starting to crawl back up spanners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NFA
    Posts
    3,029
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    spanners is offline
    i was taught old school and it was almost always 3 thou per inch of bore
    lost count of the number of engines i,v rebuilt using that calculation ,,never a ring problem,,

  11. #9
    Semi Proffessional Prat sidspop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    YamYam central
    Posts
    3,489
    Images
    453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    74
    sidspop is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by kapri View Post
    So all bores are unused and measure to be 0.060" rebore ? Those rings ( with the 0.200" gap) , were in your old engine which was also bored 0.060" ? Or are the rings new rings to be used on our old pistons ? Have you tried a ring from your old engine in the bore and checked gap ?
    Hi Kev, this is my original block that the truck came with. On stripping it was found to be 60 thou overbored. I had it checked for all measurements, and all they did to it was a cross hatch on the bores, and decked it to dead flat.
    The ring shown is a new Hepolite ring, bought as 60 thou over set. The original rings fit the bores with about 20 thou gap, (not measured, just guessing). New rings on old pistons.

    I am presuming the wrong rings were supplied, the supplier has gone off the packaging, but who is to say that they are correct inside?

  12. #10
    Semi Proffessional Prat sidspop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    YamYam central
    Posts
    3,489
    Images
    453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    74
    sidspop is offline
    The saga continues.
    I emailed the bloke on ebay, he has 4 sets, all are wrong.
    I have spoken to the chap who supplied my set, he has a set off a Zephyr, that he will split, but they are 4 rings per piston as opposed to my 3 per piston. Hopefully they will be same thickness.
    And to confuse matters even more, the top ring for a 204E piston is square on the inner face, and tapered on a 211E piston.

    So does anybody know what pistons were used in the Zephyr 6 cylinder? If 211E then the ring set should fit. If not then I am still struggling.
    Andy

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Broken piston rings or head gasket gone?
      By wakesupremo in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 31-05-2012, 08:24
    2. Piston ring gaps
      By zephyr in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 20-09-2011, 09:14
    3. head and piston combo
      By fozwanger in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 10-02-2010, 12:27
    4. Injected Pinto head
      By kapri in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 06-05-2009, 06:33
    5. Does this ring any bells....
      By MR1958CADILLAC in forum Chat
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 23-04-2009, 22:23

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •