Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

Rover V8 carbuaration.

Hi. I have an ongoing project with the installation of a Rover V8 and 5 speed manual gearbox into a 1955 Bristol 405. A while ago, I bought off the site what I thought was an Edelbrock 1404 carburettor. Turns out its an Edelbrock 14054. So a 600 cfm carburettor instead of a 500 cfm one. The guy doing the installation always said he would recommend a Holley 390. But I had a devil of a job finding a secondhand one. Reading the RPI Engineering website, they said they had stopped using Holley 390's some years ago in favour of the 1404. That's really why I looked for a secondhand 1404. I'm not really interested in big performance for this car. Much more interested in smoothness, and reasonable fuel consumption. The engine is a standard 3528 cc Rover V8. so I'm interested to take anyone's views. 600 cfm 1405 too big? 1404 better than 390? What would you recommend?

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Rods 'n' Sods Junkie
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    I know it may not apeal to you but in the past I have used with great success Weber 38DGAS carbs as fitted to Ford 3litre engines.

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    i think the holley would over fuel and cause running issues

5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks guys, John you've used the Weber 38DGAS on the Rover V8? And Darren, but surely for years the Holley 390 was the most popular carb upgrade for the Rover V8 wasn't it?

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm running a 38 dgas on 3.5 rover and manual box. Works a treat. I was recommended it. Also been told that for next project no bigger than a 390 Holley due to over fuelling issues

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Images
    Post Thanks / Like