Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

rover v8 rough running and non start issue

Hi, im currently doing some work on my friends 100e with a sd1 rover v8, and I have a bit of a running issue, the car has been garaged for the last few years but has been stared regularly with no problems, I have been tasked with geting the pop back on road, which has all been straight forward until I started it last week.

before I go into what the problem is I will tell you whats on the car, it has a early sd1 3.5 v8 with a 4160, 390cfm 4 barrel carb and a opus type dizzy with ballest resistor.

My problem is this the first time I stared it I had a probably with the carb, which was the float operated fuel valves were not closing and flooding the carb I sorted that by striping them out and cleaning them out I thn reset the float levels as per the holley instructions, I put the rough running and not ideling down to this, so yesterday when I fired up the following happened the second I touched the key it instantly burst into life happy days I thought but it still ran rough but much beter than before then I attempted to let it idle and it stopped, not to restart again, so I checked for a spark and there was one present, and fuel pump was still running and the float bowels were full, I then give it spray of easy start and still nothing, so at this point I retired to a cold beer, then today I went back out to it today and exactly the same fired up straight away again still ran rough below 3500rpm but over that it ran loverly and I kept it running for a bit then attrmpted to let it idle again it stopped and would not restart, at this point I gave up again , and had a look online and found that the opus dizzys are very problematic, and cause very similar problems to what I have, does anybody have any other ideas of what may be causing this issue, as this is my first venture Into v8s.

thanks