Servo problem
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?


Likes Likes: †0
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Servo problem

  1. #1
    Official RnS Addict russ6120's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    suffolk
    Posts
    6,021
    Images
    1417
    Post Thanks / Like
    russ6120 is offline

    Servo problem

    The servo on my truck seems to have packed in. Iíve checked the pipe and admittedly itís not servo pipe but hasnít collapsed....I can blow through it easily.
    Do these after market servos have a reputation of breaking down or am I being a nob and doing something wrong?
    If it is the servo at fault does anyone know who stocks a replacement?
    Russ

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    736
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    dodgeman is offline
    I take it that as it's not servo hose you've checked that it's not collapsed when the engine is running.

  4. #3
    Official RnS Addict russ6120's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    suffolk
    Posts
    6,021
    Images
    1417
    Post Thanks / Like
    russ6120 is offline
    I did think about that just after I finished posting. Can I replace the pipe with copper? I’ve got loads of that
    Russ

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    6,606
    Images
    2299
    Post Thanks / Like
    nobody is offline
    you could run it in copper. think you would need 10mm.just put a small vacuum hose joint at either end.

    ive had the aftermarket unbranded ones not work out the box.cheap chinese ****
    Rod/custom/drag build profiles:
    Mini | Pop | Porker | Trike | Morris 8

    | 48 chevy coupe | ford f100 | tube chassis,d pop

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict russ6120's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    suffolk
    Posts
    6,021
    Images
    1417
    Post Thanks / Like
    russ6120 is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by nobody View Post
    you could run it in copper. think you would need 10mm.just put a small vacuum hose joint at either end.

    ive had the aftermarket unbranded ones not work out the box.cheap chinese ****
    Don’t get me started on cheap Chinese ****.......causes me more problems at work than the apprentice does.

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict russ6120's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    suffolk
    Posts
    6,021
    Images
    1417
    Post Thanks / Like
    russ6120 is offline
    I changed the pipe work to copper last night and it didn’t seem to make any difference. So if anyone knows where to buy a replacement servo that would be appreciated
    Russ

  9. #7
    Official RnS Addict brading's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kings Lynn
    Posts
    2,907
    Images
    349
    Post Thanks / Like
    brading is offline
    If you have any idea what the original is off you can get one from Rockauto

  10. #8
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Roswell, New Mexico
    Posts
    631
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    NMNeil is offline
    Remove the check valve, that's the black plastic thing the hose connects to, and make sure you can only blow through it one way. If it's OK run the engine for a moment then turn it off. Pull the check valve out of the grommet on the booster and if you don't hear air going in to fill the vacuum the servo is leaking internally.

  11. #9
    Official RnS Addict russ6120's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    suffolk
    Posts
    6,021
    Images
    1417
    Post Thanks / Like
    russ6120 is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by NMNeil View Post
    Remove the check valve, that's the black plastic thing the hose connects to, and make sure you can only blow through it one way. If it's OK run the engine for a moment then turn it off. Pull the check valve out of the grommet on the booster and if you don't hear air going in to fill the vacuum the servo is leaking internally.
    Thanks for that. I’ll give it a go tomorrow if I get time

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Servo or no servo?
      By chaley in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 16-02-2015, 15:11
    2. Viva brake servo and master cylinder
      By ThomasHarris in forum Stuff - FOR SALE
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 06-10-2009, 21:28
    3. servo
      By sd156 in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 18-06-2009, 09:53
    4. Servo pipe twin screw in union V6 Essex
      By petespops in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 02-06-2009, 21:19
    5. Mini heater. Brake servo.
      By Lee in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 27-04-2009, 19:04

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts