Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  2
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

Shortening 2 piece propshaft

Hi
    My name is Len, i have a rover p5b with jag front n rear suspension.
    Ive also got a xjs split prop, and to get it to fit nice i could do to shorten the rear piece between centre bearing and diff.
    Any advice ought there or anybody done this sort of mod?
    Ive seen plenty on shortening or lengthening the front part but not the rear.
    Thanks in advance.
    Len.

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Having had a prop try to come through thefloor my recommendation is get it done professionally .

If you must do it yourself the back end of the prop is always where to do it for leat balance problems . Firstly mark the prop from the joint along more than you intend to cut off to keep u/j in phase .

Slice AROUND ( not through) the rear weld whilst rotating the shaft and you should then be able to tap the rear plug section and u/j out .

Take out the required amount , reinsert the plug and weld back up.

4. LikesWolselliac liked this post
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    I’m not sure where you are but we’ve used these guys a few times and they’ve been spot on every time. They’re at Feltham near Heathrow.

Home

6. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like