sbc cam replacement
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  2
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    6,619
    Images
    2299
    Post Thanks / Like
    nobody is offline

    sbc cam replacement

    hello



    i have a truck in.it apparently had a new cam fitted elsewhere,and the truck has been fired up befor it came here.

    on removing the rocker covers,it seams all the rockers are loose.

    bit of googling suggests that the cam may of had the lobes wiped !!! does that sound about right.

    owners happy to have another cam fitted. is it as simple as sliding one out and putting the new one in. (i read up on setting the valves) engine as far as we know is a stock 350 chevy.is there such thing as a stock cam to put back in.

    at the moment the manifold is off and it has no dizzy in.

    is this a doable job for a simpleton.

    thanks
    Rod/custom/drag build profiles:
    Mini | Pop | Porker | Trike | Morris 8

    | 48 chevy coupe | ford f100 | tube chassis,d pop

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    6,619
    Images
    2299
    Post Thanks / Like
    nobody is offline
    https://www.summitracing.com/int/par...make/chevrolet

    would something like that be suitable. seams to be lots of variations

    see most come with lifters.should i put new lifters in

    thanks
    wayne
    Rod/custom/drag build profiles:
    Mini | Pop | Porker | Trike | Morris 8

    | 48 chevy coupe | ford f100 | tube chassis,d pop

  4. #3
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,047
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    You need to coat the lobes in assembly jizz of your choice and the oil needs to be no newer then SF spec as it lacks the amount of zddp lubricant necc for flat tappets. Also have to be started and immediately loaded and run in for about 20 minutes with no load or idling revving from 1200 to 2500 to vary static loading whilst cam beds in.

    Can a simpleton do it ? Installing cam is straightforward as is setting lash. Difficult part is getting distributor in on correct stroke and setting timing to fire straight away as you don't want it cranking over for ages to remove the lubricant jizz. Speak with Mark , he's done his so should be able to do that part for you.

    As for stock cam it's probably just as cheap to fit a light performance cam , don't forget it'll need new followers regardless of what the current ones look like.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,047
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    Quote Originally Posted by nobody View Post
    https://www.summitracing.com/int/par...make/chevrolet

    would something like that be suitable. seams to be lots of variations

    see most come with lifters.should i put new lifters in

    thanks
    wayne
    YUp, 260 duration is a nice usable cam with a power increase without getting into additional machining.

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    6,619
    Images
    2299
    Post Thanks / Like
    nobody is offline
    thanks kev

    i understand about the break in bit on new cams. the first one we did the timing was out.those headers glowed very red,lol(my own car)

    actually break in a fair few new/rebuilt engines here on builds ,and am happy with setting initial timing.etc. just never really done anything thing insde an engine befor.

    im guessing id be better of getting the cam with the lifters as it all matchesthen.

    thanks
    for reply
    Rod/custom/drag build profiles:
    Mini | Pop | Porker | Trike | Morris 8

    | 48 chevy coupe | ford f100 | tube chassis,d pop

  8. #6
    Official RnS Addict WB54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Herts
    Posts
    4,588
    Images
    198
    Post Thanks / Like
    WB54 is offline
    few things to check.

    1, Drop the oil, strain it, look for glitter or flakes in the oil. Check the cam surface for obvious damage, check the underside of the lifters.
    2, Pull the oil filter and look up into the block filter recess. Theres a hole in there where the filter bypass sits. If that's plugged with a threaded plug in there, then it s a fair assumption all oil has been filtered before going to the main bearing. Cut open the filter with chisel / snips, should see all the debris in there. Clean the pan, strainer, pick up, open / clean the oil pump, change the filter and take you chances on a new cam / lifters and some debris in the motor.
    3, If that bypass is unplugged and free to open, odds are the debris from the cam has gone through the bearings, in which case, it's a total strip / clean out / rebuild with new shells if needed..

  9. Likeskapri, magneto liked this post
  10. #7
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    6,619
    Images
    2299
    Post Thanks / Like
    nobody is offline
    Rod/custom/drag build profiles:
    Mini | Pop | Porker | Trike | Morris 8

    | 48 chevy coupe | ford f100 | tube chassis,d pop

  11. #8
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,047
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    That looks like a headgasket as well then Needs full strip is nothing obvious when head removed as always possibility of cracked block.

  12. #9
    Official RnS Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    The north
    Posts
    1,363
    Images
    1314
    Post Thanks / Like
    nuggets is offline
    I have this spare if interested. Brand new in box as I've changed plan and I'm going big block now. Also have some spare small block engines and big blocks too if you get stuck

    https://www.summitracing.com/int/par...make/chevrolet

    £250 posted on that cam kit

  13. #10
    Administrator blackpopracing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Slough
    Posts
    8,721
    Images
    1754
    Post Thanks / Like
    blackpopracing is offline
    That does not look too good.

    Real Steel probably just as cheap as Summit now with the poor £ if you were going to change cam.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 3
      Last Post: 04-03-2011, 20:40
    2. consul classic leaf springs replacement?????
      By koolhandluke in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 06-12-2009, 19:31
    3. Jag' hub felt bushing replacement?
      By staleg in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 25-08-2009, 05:16
    4. B52 replacement?
      By 30psi in forum What, Where, When ?
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 19-05-2009, 21:39

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •