Stock 103e speedo
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie mgleadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sheffield, S25
    Posts
    125
    Images
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    mgleadow is offline

    Stock 103e speedo

    There are a lot of Pop people on here, anyone know how many revolutions per mile the stock 103e speedo expects? Trying to work out the cheapest way to get a working speedo until I can afford to completely redo the dash and wiring, it's got a disconnected stock speedo in it.

    If I can hook it up to the Viva HB gearbox and get a reading (even if a bit out) I'll at least be able to compare to GPS and know where the true readings are.

    I believe a lot of newer stuff uses 1000 revs per mile, but no idea if the old Fords followed this.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BRITAINS FASTEST STREET LEGAL VAN HEAD QUARTERS
    Posts
    4,329
    Images
    388
    Post Thanks / Like
    Fordson Van is offline
    sat nav

  4. #3
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie mgleadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sheffield, S25
    Posts
    125
    Images
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    mgleadow is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by Fordson Van View Post
    sat nav
    That's what I do at the moment, but I'd like to see working gauges. At the moment I'm looking at a cheap rev counter off ebay and knowing the RPM at 30 and 60 in top as a fall back.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    starting to crawl back up spanners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NFA
    Posts
    3,029
    Images
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    spanners is offline
    i,m gonna be having the same sort of problem , i,ll need to match a 1936 austin speedo to a th350 trans
    one way i once did one when i fitted a cummins and box out of a leyland/daf into a ford f350 was i got a commercial tachograph cable and wheel box and a friendly chap at bells transport at ,sutton, macclesfield popped her on the rolling road and calibrated the set up for me ..

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict scooder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bridgwater
    Posts
    727
    Images
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    scooder is offline
    At least some of the old Fords also use the 1000 per mile speedo, have a real good look on the speedo, mostly the number is tucked away on the face some where, right against the edge. Some have the make ie Smiths or Ac, then the number.
    If you do connect him to the viva box, youll get a reading of some thing. In the past ive followed some one with a good speedo, and used there car to see what the speedo in mine read, at 30. Then after pulling the speedo out of mine, turn the needle to what it was pointing at at 30. Hold the gubbinz at that speed, an turn the needle to 30, whilst still holding the gubinz so it dont move with the speedo. The needle is delicate, some times it will move on its speedo relitivly easy (its only pushed on) some times you'll have to gently pry the needle of the spindle, plop him back on loosly, do the adjust ment and then set him down tight again.
    Of course now you can use your sat nav for calibration, as you got one.
    Hope this helps.
    Martin.

  8. #6
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,122
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    Ghetto / rat rod method, masking tape and felt tip pen

  9. #7
    Official RnS Addict scooder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bridgwater
    Posts
    727
    Images
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    scooder is offline
    Forgot to say. In my method, only the 30mph reading will be acurate, but I feel this is the important one, and the one most likely to drift over the limit. Atleast with me it is, and its the quick glance at the speedo you (or I) do in normal driving. You'll quickly get used to what it reads at other speeds and all will be fine
    Martin.

  10. #8
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie mgleadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sheffield, S25
    Posts
    125
    Images
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    mgleadow is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by scooder View Post
    Forgot to say. In my method, only the 30mph reading will be acurate, but I feel this is the important one, and the one most likely to drift over the limit. Atleast with me it is, and its the quick glance at the speedo you (or I) do in normal driving. You'll quickly get used to what it reads at other speeds and all will be fine
    Martin.
    First time I drove it and discovered the speedo didn't work I guestimated 30 mph going into a 30 zone, one of those electronic speed monitoring boards flashed up 29 as I went past. Was quite impressed with my skills :-)

  11. #9
    Rods 'n' Sods Junkie mgleadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sheffield, S25
    Posts
    125
    Images
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    mgleadow is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by kapri View Post
    Ghetto / rat rod method, masking tape and felt tip pen
    Yep, or something similar - sure I can find a fun way of doing that. Getting the needle moving would be a good starting point

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 25
      Last Post: 02-11-2014, 20:58
    2. Type 9 box speedo cable into stock pop clock
      By klassicdave in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 01-07-2010, 08:21
    3. A pair of stock steels wheels.........
      By cabby in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 10-07-2009, 13:49
    4. Flathead speedo cable and speedo
      By Doubledoyle in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 03-05-2009, 20:54

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •