Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

v8 cf column change?

Hi, planning a bedford cf v8 transplant but want to either column (preferred) or dash mount the auto shift, anyone done this or have any suggestions? Also, with regard to the on going cf final drive discussion, my cf has an overdrive, is there any reason why this could not be fitted behind an auto box? Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    For ideas on the column change, look for pics of Lokar column shift cable set up. Get one of those or copy the idea, its up to you. The Overdrive could be fitted behind the auto, asuming its a Laycock type,Some of them wer suprisingly strong, but would take some engineering to sort. Maybe look into fitting it as a seperate stand alone chap. Gear vendors do a Laycock type overdrive convertion that replaces the tail shaft of the box, deer though. I think your best bet is a change in axle ratio, With a torquey V8 in a littel CF with its relitivy small wheels, you should be looking in the 3.00 area, like Capri 2.8 axle. Thats a 3.08. With your current axle and overdrive, it would feel all wrong. Youd zip through the gears in a blink, and then have overdrive. You cant just run the overdrive all the time to compensate for a screamy axle ratio. The overdrive would eat itself in no time. To much torque in the low gears. An Over drive is to be used as an extra gear for cruising. Not for making up a very wrong axle ratio.
    Bite the bullet and get the right axle ratio.
    Martin.

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you can find one a Cresda diff can be fitted into a CF axle.....
    "…si quid habet mammas vel rotas, res habebis difficiles aliquando,"
    "Carpe diem" -Quintus Horatius Flaccus (65 BC – 8 BC).

What Would the Dude Do?

5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

I'm a newbie !