Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

When to change oil in rebuilt engine

Hi, I'm rebuilding a 1984 305 small block Chevy, it's been rebored new Pistons, rings, cam and crank. I've been told to use a zinc additive in the oil, what oil and additive would you recommend and how soon should I change the oil after first start up?

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real steel do proper running in oil. Change after 500 miles.

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    I use ZDDPlus from Burtons.

5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    I would change the oil after 100 miles, unless of course the engine and components were cleaned 100% prior to build up, there's always **** in somewhere.
    If quitters never win, and winners never cheat, then who is the fool who said "Quit while you're ahead"

I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the info guys

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by rodster View Post
    I would change the oil after 100 miles, unless of course the engine and components were cleaned 100% prior to build up, there's always **** in somewhere.
    yep, how cheap is oil and filter compared to what you've spent on the engine.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

Official RnS Addict
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    It may be open to debate but the procedure we always followed was to start and run the engine for 30 minutes then change the filter, but not the oil. Any crap will be caught by the filter so that's the only item that really needs changing. If it's an expensive or aircraft engine it was also common practice to cut open the filter and check for debris.

I'm a grown up member now !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by NMNeil View Post