c4 auto linkage for column shift.
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

 
Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Official RnS Addict Micks47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    610
    Images
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Micks47 is offline

    Questionc4 auto linkage for column shift.

    Anyone got any bright ideas? I have installed a C4 in my 55 Ford Customline. It originally had a 2 speed Fordomatic and I want to keep the column change. I have looked at Lokar shifters and it would appear that a solid linkage would be impossible to route, so it looks like a cable one is the way to go. If I manage to link this up to the shift bracket at the bottom of the column how am I going to select all the gears as there will presuambly be too few indents? I have also been told the gears will be back to front as well??!

    I had some weird answers from USA sites I have asked. Surely someone has done it before?

    Excuse my naevity but I know [email protected]@er all about autos at the best of times!
    Attached Images

  2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Off the Xmas card list kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    23,086
    Images
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    kapri is online now
    Yup, you'd need more indents on the column or cut a fresh plate that operates within the visible quadrant, reletter the fascia and then shorten the operating arm on the gearbox so it operates over the same amount of travel as the revised gear selector .

    It it's back to front you need to change where the cable pulls from / put operating arm upside down to reverse the pattern.

  4. #3
    Official RnS Addict Micks47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    610
    Images
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Micks47 is offline
    Thanks for that Kev. I keep getting told to just fit a tunnel shifter, but I am determined to retain the colomn one. It sounds as if I should be able to with a little fiddling.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Flange Dealer Paul G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Derby , UK
    Posts
    642
    Images
    57
    Post Thanks / Like
    Paul G is offline
    I've ran a column shift on my C4 for years. The trans has it's own detent , I just count the clicks as I move through the gears , no marker to tell me what gear it's in.
    No longer selling anything Hot Rod related. Not on this site anyway. Don't bother searching Ebay either, they got too greedy.........

  7. #5
    Official RnS Addict Micks47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    610
    Images
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Micks47 is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul G View Post
    I've ran a column shift on my C4 for years. The trans has it's own detent , I just count the clicks as I move through the gears , no marker to tell me what gear it's in.
    Thanks Paul. Out of interest what car was this in? What sort of linkage did you use?

  8. #6
    Flange Dealer Paul G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Derby , UK
    Posts
    642
    Images
    57
    Post Thanks / Like
    Paul G is offline
    It's in my Zephyr , linkage was a rod between one of the rods on my stock column shift & the arm on the side of the trans. Trans came out of a RHD car so it had the cross linkage on it to operate the lever on the left hand side.



    the other side is a mirror image of this with a link to the shifter arm.


    I am going to alter it to a cable operation , I've made this bracket...



    ...to locate one end of the cable outer & intend to weld an arm onto the shifter shaft that runs down the top of my column to operate the inner.
    No longer selling anything Hot Rod related. Not on this site anyway. Don't bother searching Ebay either, they got too greedy.........

  9. #7
    Official RnS Addict Micks47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    610
    Images
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Micks47 is offline
    Cheers Paul. Very helpful. Thanks.

  10. #8
    I'm a grown up member now ! Tri5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Gosport Hampshire
    Posts
    87
    Images
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Tri5 is offline
    Mick, speedy cables in wales can make the push/pull cable to operate your tranny. just measure the length, send them photos of the end and what brackets you need and hey presto. They are really helpful, and not expensive.

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Where you live, Town\City\County etc.

Please enter your full name
This field cannot be edited once it has been completed other than via contacting the site admin. Please make sure the information is correct first time.

Log-in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Chevy truck column change linkage
      By kapri in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 30-10-2010, 22:21
    2. Column shift steering column........
      By Pegleg in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 10-05-2010, 21:39
    3. RHD Automatic column shift steering column
      By Gotzy in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 12-04-2010, 18:44
    4. Rose joints for shift linkage
      By English Impala in forum Tech Discussion
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 07-11-2009, 21:40
    5. Manual shift Linkage for Tri Chevy
      By Tark in forum Stuff - WANTED
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 06-07-2009, 21:07

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may post new threads
    • You may post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •