Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

Cleveland 408 with high compression

Hi guys

My name is Werner Staubli from Johannesburg, South Africa. I have a Ford 1946 Jailbar with a Cleveland 408. We are running a 13:1 compression ratio, hence we need to run 102 octane for ultimate performance. The problem is that its hard to come by, damn expensive and not practical when travelling long(ish) distances, so the timing has been retarted and is now running off 95 octane.

We obviously had issues with pre ignition as a result, and managed to tune it now that I cannot hear pre ignition anymore. After speaking to other mechanics, their view is that we should reduce the compression to avoid pre ignition and get the most potential from the engine.

What are your thoughts and what (best) methods are there to achieve this ?

2. Remove Advertisements
    RodsnSods.co.uk
    Advertisements

Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    at 13:1 it does need reducing to use it a road vehicle with normal pump fuel. it probably has 'pop up' pistons which if swapped for dished or at least flat top would be one way to lower it. next what heads are fitted? replacing them with bigger chamber versions would be another way. the cheapest way would be shims between the heads and block. as for losing performance with the lower compression it shouldn't be any worse than retarding the timing as you have done now and the retarded timing will make it run hot too, never a good thing.
    good luck, neil.
    need a job done on your project? i may be able to help.

Welding Guru
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by mygasser View Post