My 55 4 door recommissioning started today.
Have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 38 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

My 55 4 door recommissioning started today.

Hi my 55 4 door arrived today after a long wait, I have been collecting parts for the last 3 months awaiting it's arrival. I am going to get it MOT'ed first then get it registered.

Then the fun begins, I had a bit of a look around it and it seems there is little rust in it mainly confined to both the rear doors at the bottom rear where there are a few bubbles of rust and the headlight brows where there is some filler repairs.

Front and rear wings have had their fair share of parking by ear and it has had a minor biff up the rear under the lights and not repaired very well so that all needs strightening and sorting so the lights fit perfectly again.

I ripped the rubber mats out of the inside and the boot removed the rear seat hoovered up the inevitable rat droppings and nest inside the rear seat, inspected the floor where there is just some flakey surface rust. In the boot under the mat no rust not even any surface up under the parcel shelf no rust. I have been looking at all the Chevy restorations everybody is doing so I have gained knowledge where they rust because of your builds, many thanks for that.

The o/s/r rear door lock doesn't work from outside, and the n/s/r door doesn't work at all so that needs looking at, it had aftermarket air-con fitted which I removed as it was a hideous add on even though it was standing for 10 years, when I disconnected it it was still pressurized with refrigerant the problem I have is I have ordered a Vintage Air air-con kit and you have to use the original heater levers and with the kit I removed it doesn't use the factory lever assembly, it's got a blanking plate with a heater switch in it's place.