Forgot your username?

Likes Likes:  0
+ Reply to Thread
    I'm a newbie !
    Images
    Post Thanks / Like

Accross the pond new guy...

Hi all,
    I am a 78 years old hot rodder, living in Washington state, USA. I just completed building a T Bucket, actually a '26 roadster, using a '63 Olds 215ci aluminum engine, sister to the Buick 215, and the fore runner to the Rover V8. In '61 - '63, Olds used a 3 speed automatic often referred to as the 'mini slim Jim', and it was pretty much a piece of junk, with terrible shift habits. The Buick used a 2 speed automatic, called a 'Dual Path', which is not a bad trans, very small in size, but weak. (Both of those trans were only built from '61 to '63, and are getting hard to come by here.) I chose the Dual Path for my T bucket, because of it's tiny size. (On a T Bucket, you need all the foot room you can get!) The bad news is that my junk yard supplied Dual Path trans has burned out clutches for reverse. A rebuild kit for this trans is about $400 US$. Finding someone with experience and knowledge on this trans that can actually perform the rebuild is near impossible.

As an aside: I like the Olds head design better than the Buick design, as they tend to breath a bit better, and the valve covers are set at an angle similar to a Chevy, which to me looks better. It's pretty much a wash though, either Olds or Buick and pretty much the same, with almost total parts interchange, and many parts interchange with the Rover version. For example, I'm running Rover exhaust manifolds since mine were cracked, and a Rover starter, because it in geared and allows me to run a small garden tractor battery in the car. PS, The car just squirts as it is so light, with my tubing home built frame and thin glass body!