Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,742 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
Bought my 3 window in September and really the only fault it a crack right through the drivers door door frame (see pics)
There is movement so I have to do something, question is what to do?
I don't mind the repair being visible so long as it does the job and looks "OK".

I have zero experience ..........

My origonal thoughts were to drill hole at end of crack to stop it getting longer then get hold of small polished stainless steel plate (matching door fittings) and bolt through the door frame "stitching" the door back together and then if there was access add some "fibreglass inside for added strength.

Problem is there is no access / space to bolt through.

So ideas on a postcard please - thanks

·
Registered
750 Posts
^^ that would work..I would grind the area down lay some strips of fibreglass mat(not the p40 type tinned stuff) over the crack and then rivet or screw a plate over it..after its hardened finish with fibreglass(tinned stuff) an filler smooth..Half measures will see the crack re-appearing.

·
Premium Member
4,052 Posts
the correct way to do it but more difficult/time consuming is to split the outer skin from inner, repair fibre glass then stick back together.

·
Supercharged 461 cu in
1,407 Posts
the correct way to do it but more difficult/time consuming is to split the outer skin from inner, repair fibre glass then stick back together.
Yeah i was gonna say pretty much the same, but if that were me doing the repair....i would very carefully cut the broken section out in the straightest way i can. then repair the broken piece using layers of fine mat. then sand the outer gel coat a tad to allow for more fine mat over it when refitted.

so to just clarify that