Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone i'm new to the scene

what books can people reccomend me as far as building a chassis from scratch goes

as i would like to have ago at a hotrod project this summer

i know some about it and ive read abit into it

but nothing with hard numbers and angles or how bigger Z/kick up to have in the rear and stuff like that

someone should write a book called

"how to build a british hotrod" as in viva front n jag rears and stuff like that using all english parts and have builds of a ford pop or prefect and model Y's featured in there

any book info would be great or websites to look at for like guides

and not a book that lightly touches on suspension and thne moves onto air ride and crap like that i mean like hard numbers and facts

any help would be great

mattt

·
Registered
2,128 Posts
You are not going to get a book with hard facts and numbers because there are so many variables. You need to do your homework.
Some say a chassis is the foundation of a project and must be first to be planned, others say that a chassis is just a frame to hold all the important bits in the right place....basically both are right.

If it's a scratch build here is what I do...

Get body, get wheels and tyres you will be using, get front and rear ends you will be using. Set body at ride height you want. Set wheels and tyres at wheelbase and track that you want. Start measuring.
With a stack of measurements you can then see if your chosen suspension units need narrowed or not.
Sit them at the centre of there travel in the right location and then start to plan a frame thatwill hold it all where it needs to be.

·
Premium Member
7,424 Posts
hi matt
theres a few suspension and chassis books on the market.which ones you need
will depend what style of car you want and what you want it to do.