Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, has anyone fitted a compact dual circuit brake servo as supplied by Car Builder Solutions? I have a twin willwood bias master cylinder fitted to my car, but pedal pressure is a bit more than I'd like, so I'd like opinions on fitting the above before purchasing. I don't have space for 2 singles, and don't want to just servo the fronts.

Cheers,

Pete

·
Off the Xmas card list
24,141 Posts
I've used one many years back .It was a bit of a pain to bleed but that was due to the installation of the entire braking system ( I got involved half way through the build) . Other than that it was fine and passed specs required for new cars ( SVA) which is higher than MOT standards.

·
Premium Member
14,421 Posts
how much pedal travel do you have now? if it's not much you could swap in smaller bore master cylinders which would help a lot, probably to the point you wouldn't need a servo if the pedal ratio is correct for manual brakes. plus 2 cylinders are much cheaper than a dual circuit remote servo and no new plumbing to do either. rally design do their own cylinders for bias pedal boxes, much cheaper than wilwood and they have twin lip seals so actually better too. they're all a copy of the old girling cylinders anyway so.....
neil.

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Pedal travel is pretty short and brakes work fine, just looking for a bit less effort. Brakes are Hi Spec 4 pots on front and Ford 9 inch drums on rear. Balance bar is adjusted to give most braking to front, and will lock front just before rear on a hard application at 30 mph. I don't have much pedal space, and longer travel on the pedal wouldn't be desirable.
Cheers,

Pete

·
Premium Member
14,421 Posts