Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, my name is Trevor and I'm a newbie. I have recently bought a 1960 Mk 2 Consul Deluxe. It has no engine, radiator or exhaust but everything else is still intact. It has the original 3 speed column change gearbox and prop shaft still fitted. I have the chance to purchase a 2ltr Ford Pinto with 5 speed box but I would like to know if I could keep the 3 speed column change gear box somehow. I don't want to convert it to floor change unless I really have to. Any advice would be welcome thanks.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Not sure about the strenght of the 3 speeder but I do know that the bellhousing is removable so maybe a modder pinto bellhousing could be fabbed. Rear diff on Consul has weak u-bolt fixings and this can be updated to more common bolt-on flange type using a Mk3 Zephyr/Zodiac diff . Good luck with conversion and welcome to this site

·
Semi Proffessional Prat
3,489 Posts
Why not drop an original engine back in? Mounts are ready, everything will fit. Tazz around for a while whilst you formulate a plan.

My God, I sound more like a restorer every day!
I doubt if a 3 speed would last too long. They were originally for about 55 hp, and a lot less torque.

And welcome! Notice you are just up the road, if you need to talk more, PM me.

·
Stroker
5,499 Posts
Stock or not!

Just seen a stock engine on the bay and for the cost of a rebuild and sourcing the other original parts it may be far easier and more bhp to go the pinto route.
Just get creative with a long bendy gear lever :D as it happens the floor has an inspection cover thing just where a lever would come through (I think). I can't quite remember if I had to enlarge it when I dropped in a 4 speed conversion !?

I fancy another Consul as a daily but wouldn't want a stock mill tbh.

cheers
Jimbo

·
Dragging not Bragging
5,718 Posts