Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner

1 - 20 of 86 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right then, before I start I'd like to say that I am not a painter, or a bodywork expert or a restorer.......I'm a plumber and I know feck all about cars.
This thread is me showing you how I painted my car. If I tell you to do it a certain way and its wrong then please feel free to advise. If you slag off what I do I will say 'I'm a plumber' and not give a shit.
With all that said, I hope this helps/encourages anyone thinking of having a go. But remember, it's your car, and if you fuck it up it's not mu fault :)

Let us begin.
After all the usual filling and rubbing down I applied a couple of coats of primer with a little gloss roller (sponge). This is the primer I used. get yourself plenty of spare rollers as this stuff eats them. The second it starts to sag and disintegrate, chuck it.

Next step is to flat it off. There is no need to go mad with 1200 grade paper. A light rub with some 400 to get rid of the gritty feel and smooth it off a bit. When you've done that then clean with a clean cloth and some thinners (put the thinners on the cloth, don't pour in on the car). Clean off with a tack cloth.

·
Welding Guru
792 Posts
Thats the brownest plumbers hand i have ever seen. you must be just doing boiler swaps and having nice holidays or hanging your arm out of the window on the way to jobs!
Just kidding. i took my fairlane down to 180 grit full bare metal and then bit the bullet and put it into the hands of the experts. It hurt me to do so as i had done everything else myself. but i am really glad i did. the painter is a mate of mine and he said i save myself a fortune by doing all the bare metal work.
good luck, Brendon.

·
Premium Member
6,180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Step 2.
The paint I'm using is Rustoleum Kombicolor. Its a bit like Hammerite smooth finish, but available in loads of colours.