Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After a bit of advice regarding chevy motor, its a 350 donated from 1980 motor caravan, Holley 600 (electric choke) carb and coupled with secondhand MSD probillet dizzy and 6AL box.

Basically struggles to start, once its running ticks over ok if a little rough, but soon as shift to drive it starts spluttering and looses all power, have to keep feathering throttle to keep it running.

think pump is supplying enough fuel as initially had a banjo leak which shot petrol about foot in the air.

Has anyone got any suggestions? as I'm no engine expert!

would also like to know the recommended fuel presure for Holley carb and what ignition advance to set dizzy to. Oh and how loud are Holley fuel pumps normally? mine makes hell of a racket, lot noisier than previous facet ones I've had, and can clearly hear it over sound of engine. Also should holley pump have a return pipe or is a single line ok?

thanks Gav.

·
richard rawlplug
8,140 Posts
holley pumps are noisy (blue pump???)

think on the pressure side 7 psi..?? will stand to be corrected on this tho.....

whats the timing set to..???

·
Off the Xmas card list
24,268 Posts
I presume it was running OK in its original home so we know this is a chnag eof parts problem rather than something underlying ?So no cam change and when you stripped of all the emission crap you made sure all open ports etc blanked off ? What about PCV set up , all as stock?

·
Registered
821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks for the replys, had another look at it this afternoon. regulator was set to 3 psi so I've upped it to around 6, and ignition was about 6 degrees I've advanced it to around 9 degrees, checked all ports blocked off and have got stock PCV valve.