Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I recently bought what I think are Ford Pilot spindles and beam and hoping someone could confirm this,

I am looking for a set of king pins and advice on brakes?

Thanks,

Malc.

·
"call 0-800 Apocalypse"
5,229 Posts
this may be of some help,Ford axle ID

i,m no expert on pilots but i thought they had some sort of built in jacking device, yours doesnt seem to have the mounting holes.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Satan,

it Looks like 37-41 beam....anymore help on the spindles and what king pins and brakes will fit... anyone?

·
I'm Not Jed Clampett
2,725 Posts
Thanks Satan,

it Looks like 37-41 beam....anymore help on the spindles and what king pins and brakes will fit... anyone?
I'm no expert on these axles, but have done the kingpins on a few. If the spindles have a big top to bottom gap when you offer them up to the beam, they are '37 or later which have the thrust bearing under the axle eye. if there's very little clearance, they're probably either V8 Pilot or '36 or earlier, both of which had the thrust bearing above the spindle under a collar on the top of the kingpin. Pilot kingpins are a bloody silly price, but directly interchange with the Yank 35-36 kingpins even though they look quite different. All the early Yank and Pilot axles I have seen have 13/16" kingpins; the bushes need to be line reamed before you assemble them.

HTH.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The gap between spindle and beam is 1/8 of an inch thats about 3.1mm, so would you say Pilot spindles?

The beam is looking like 37-41 from the web links?

Any more info on brakes I could fit? Yank 35-36 kingpins will fit?

·
Registered
1,987 Posts