Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1500 engine from a Spitfire and it has twin SU HS4 carbs with the concentric float chamber underneath. Car has been standing for a while. I have no experience of these carbs. I fitted a small test tank, ie gravity fed as I didn't know how clean the fuel system was. The engine would start and run on choke but died if the choke was gradually taken off and it also tended to flood from the overflows with the engine stopped. I have removed the carbs just to clean them mainly and found a fair amount of hardened lacquer in the float chambers and one float needle was sticky in its jet housing. No sign of a blockage as far as I could see. Also, when I put some ATF in the dashpots (what should the right level be?) it leaked out into the bore of the carb especially when the piston was raised and allowed to drop. Is there a U-Tube overhaul video for this carb? I found one for the side float carbs which helped a little. I really need to know how to set the carb initially to get the engine running evenly enough to fine tune. Please help. Cheers, Dave

·
I'm Not Jed Clampett
2,725 Posts
As Weslake-Monza said, if the float chambers are underneath and they're SU carbs, they're HIFs for sure, almost certainly HIF 38s as they're the equivalent to the HS4s that the earlier 1500 Triumphs had.

You may need to block off some of the numerous emissions connections fitted on most of these carbs if you aren't using the OE fitment carbon filters etc.

The Haynes manual for SU carbs is surprisingly useful for rebuilding and setting up these carbs, be as good a place as anywhere to start if you're not too familiar now. Burlen Fuel Systems sell all the parts and complete overhaul kits too.

·
Registered
1,683 Posts